Seats filling for 2013 V8 Supercars Championship

Tuesday 22nd January, 2013


Author: SpeedCafe ©

The 2013 V8 Supercars grid is almost complete

The 2013 V8 Supercars grid is almost complete

The final look of the 2013 V8 Supercars Championship grid is almost complete, with a number of impending confirmations set to lock down the new field.

As reported by last week, former Stone Brothers Racing star Shane van Gisbergen is set to make an unexpected and bold return to the V8 field, linking with Tekno Autosports.

The shock news regarding the fast Kiwi’s future is set to be confirmed later this week.

The role vacated by van Gisbergen at Erebus Motorsport (formally SBR) is yet to be confirmed, with paddock talk linking Chaz Mostert to the drive. The Ford Performance Racing junior driver is likely to remain a driver contracted to FPR, but could be loaned to the new Mercedez Benz team.

FPR team principal Tim Edwards has said in the past that if he is unable to find Mostert a seat in the V8 Supercars Championship, he will field a Dunlop Series entry for his young charger.

Another set of seats yet to be announced lie with the newly-expanded two-car Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport squad.

Dunlop Series runner-up Scott Pye has been heavily linked to the drive in the #30 iSelect-backed entry, while the team’s second Holden is firming as a new home for Dean Fiore.The West Australian recently confirmed that he will lease his own Racing Entitlements Contract to Dick Johnson Racing for this year.

Team owner Lucas Dumbrell could not be contacted for further comment.

The final vacancy is at Dick Johnson Racing, driving the #12 Falcon that was recently vacated by Fiore. Last year’s DJR driver Steve Owen and former Kelly Racing pilot Karl Reindler are understood to be in contention for the position.

Other seats that have not been made public, yet are widely known as confirmed, are Michael Caruso and James Moffat at Nissan Motorsport.

See below for the list of confirmed drivers in the 2013 V8 Supercars Championship.

Note: Italics are unconfirmed/rumoured

1Jamie WhincupTriple Eight Race EngineeringHolden Commodore VF
2Garth TanderHolden Racing TeamHolden Commodore VF
3Tony D’AlbertoTony D’Alberto RacingHolden Commodore VF
4Lee HoldsworthErebus MotorsportMercedes-Benz E63 AMG
5Mark WinterbottomFord Performance RacingFord Falcon FG
6Will DavisonFord Performance RacingFord Falcon FG
7Todd KellyNissan MotorsportNissan Altima L33
8Jason BrightBrad Jones RacingHolden Commodore VF
9Chaz MostertErebus MotorsportMercedes-Benz E63 AMG
11James MoffatNissan MotorsportNissan Altima L33
12Triple F RacingFord Falcon FG
14Fabian CoulthardBrad Jones RacingHolden Commodore VF
15Rick KellyNissan MotorsportNissan Altima L33
16Michael CarusoNissan MotorsportNissan Altima L33
17Steve JohnsonDick Johnson RacingFord Falcon FG
18Alex DavisonCharlie Schwerkolt RacingFord Falcon FG
19Jonathon WebbTekno AutosportsHolden Commodore VF
21David WallBrad Jones RacingHolden Commodore VF
22James CourtneyHolden Racing TeamHolden Commodore VF
30Scott PyeLucas Dumbrell MotorsportHolden Commodore VF
33Alexandre PrematGarry Rogers MotorsportHolden Commodore VF
34Scott McLaughlinGarry Rogers MotorsportHolden Commodore VF
47Tim SladeErebus MotorsportMercedes-Benz E63 AMG
49Dean FioreLucas Dumbrell MotorsportHolden Commodore VF
55David ReynoldsRod Nash RacingFord Falcon FG
66Russell IngallWalkinshaw RacingHolden Commodore VF
91Shane van GisbergenTekno AutosportsHolden Commodore VF
888Craig LowndesTriple Eight Race EngineeringHolden Commodore VF

Comments are closed.