Kerry Madsen wins Australian Sprintcar Title Night One

  • Friday 11th January, 2013 10:34am
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©
Kerry Madsen won the opening night of the Australian Sprintcar Championship (PIC: Ben Graham/

Kerry Madsen won the opening night of the Australian Sprintcar Championship (PIC: Ben Graham/

Australian World of Outlaws star, Kerry Madsen has got his 2013 Australian Title campaign off to a perfect start taking victory in the night one preliminary feature for the 51st Australian Sprintcar Championship at Brisbane’s Supercheap Auto Archerfield Speedway.

Madsen, driving the Toyota Genuine Parts Cool Chassis for the defending Champion team – Krikke Motorsport – had an enthralling mid-race dice with Steven Lines.

After getting away from the start in the lead, Madsen was quickly rounded up on the tight Archerfield bullring by Lines, who elevated himself to the lead on lap 10.

He held onto this position until the 13th circulation when Madsen regained the ascendency.

From there, the winner of five World of Outlaws main events during 2012 didn’t look like being headed, taking an easy victory.

The real interest was the battle for second however, with Lines falling back into the clutches of Andrew Scheuerle. The Toowoomba racer got around Lines into second for more valuable points ahead of Saturday night’s finals.

Finishing fourth was six times Australian Champion, Garry Brazier from Danny Reidy.

Earlier in the night, local racer and former Champion, Todd Wanless set the quickest time in qualifying.

The heat races were taken out by Tim Garrett, Peter Lack (2 wins), Dan Murray (2 wins), Ricky Maiolo (2 wins), Eddie Lumbar and Brent Kratzmann.

The Title continues tonight at Archerfield with defending Champion, Brooke Tatnell, four times Champion Max Dumesny and former Champion Robbie Farr among the heavy hitters. Finals will be conducted on Saturday night.


1.Kerry Madsen
2.Andrew Scheurle
3.Steven Lines
4.Garry Brazier
5.Danny Reidy
6.Trevor Green
7.Brock Dean
8.Cameron Gessner
9.Grant Anderson
10.Terry Bracken


1.Kerry Madsen133
2.Steven Lines130
3.Danny Reidy123
4.Garry Brazier120
5.Peter Lack120
6.Cameron Gessner117
7.Andrew Scheuerle117
8.Trevor Green110
9.Todd Wanless108
10.Brock Dean107

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 -