Castrol Wrap – V8 Supercar Final Round – Sydney Telstra 500

Monday 3rd December, 2012


Author: Justin Murray ©

Davison wins the final race of the 2012 V8 Supercars season

Davison wins the final race of the 2012 V8 Supercars season

Castrol-backed Ford Performance Racing have capped off another strong year in the International V8 Supercars Championship with Will Davison winning the final race of the year at the Sydney Telstra 500.

The championship win went top Triple 8’s Jamie Whincup with FPR driver Mark Winterbottom narrowly missing out on second for the year being pipped at the post by Craig Lowndes in the final race.

Davison claimed fourth overall in the championship standings as well as picking up the prestigious Armor All Pole Award for the most amount of poles for the season with an impressive nine.

“I am pumped to round out the year like this and to win at Homebush is a special feeling as I’ve come so close in the past,” said Davison.

“It was a great race and for once relatively straight forward. I settled into a good battle and managed everything I needed to so it was nice. I am proud to win the final race for Ford this season so I am going to enjoy our celebrations as the pole award was a nice bonus.” Davison added.

Fellow Castrol-backed FPR teammate David Reynolds putting in his best year to date, in his young career, to finish inside the top-10 in ninth.

Ingall endured a tough finish to what was otherwise a strong year for the Supercheap Auto driver

Ingall endured a tough finish to what was otherwise a strong year for the Supercheap Auto driver

Castrol-backed Kelly Racing Jack Daniel’s Commodore drivers Rick Kelly and Tim Blanchard finished the 30th and final race of the 2012 season 11th and 24th respectively.

“There’s no doubt we’ve had a tough year but finished it on a comparative high this weekend with a sixth and eleventh,” said Kelly.

“I’m really impressed with how well the team has stuck together this year through the tough times. If we can hang in together that well in the tough times, I know we will enjoy the good times next season when we can challenge the best of them.” Kelly added.

Russell Ingall produced his season-best qualifying performance in the Supercheap Auto Racing Holden Commodore and recovered from a mid-race setback to finish Saturday’s first leg of the Sydney Telstra 500, Race 29 of the V8 Supercar Championship, just outside the top 10.

Ingall unfortunately endured an unlucky conclusion to his 2012 V8 Supercar Championship campaign, a couple of mechanical issues ending his run in the second leg of the Sydney Telstra 500.

The 2012 International V8 Supercar season is now complete; the 2013 season kicks off with the Clipsal 500, Adelaide, February 28-March 3.

Result: V8 Supercars Championship Race 30, Sydney Olympic Park

1 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 74 01:57:50.5999
2 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 74 01:57:53.1830
3 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VE2 74 01:57:55.1879
4 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 74 01:57:58.7939
5 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 74 01:58:15.1295
6 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE2 74 01:58:18.8181
7 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 74 01:58:28.3027
8 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 74 01:58:36.8652
9 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 74 01:58:38.3088
10 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 74 01:58:39.2610
11 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 74 01:58:40.6498
12 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG 74 01:58:42.0781
13 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 74 01:58:46.3043
14 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE2 74 01:58:46.9772
15 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 74 01:59:58.3786
16 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 73 01:58:29.4507
17 Fujitsu Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VE2 73 01:58:35.4197
18 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 73 01:58:51.4094
19 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE2 73 01:59:03.2504
20 Jack Daniel’s Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:59:00.7721
21 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 69 01:57:53.9308
22 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Ford Falcon FG 69 01:59:01.1812
DNF Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 72 01:55:58.1945
DNF Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 34    58:00.9814
DNF Team Hiflex Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG 29    51:07.6128
DNF Wilson Security Racing David Wall Holden Commodore VE2 14    27:42.6673
DNF Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2  5     9:58.1246
DNF SP Tools Racing Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG

Championship standings after Race 30 of 30

1 Jamie Whincup 3861
2 Craig Lowndes 3522
3 Mark Winterbottom 3457
4 Will Davison 3049
5 Tim Slade 2790
6 Shane Van Gisbergen 2554
7 Garth Tander 2462
8 Lee Holdsworth 2189
9 David Reynolds 2187
10 James Courtney 2153
11 Fabian Coulthard 2035
12 Jonathon Webb 1987
13 Russell Ingall 1960
14 Rick Kelly 1894
15 Michael Caruso 1770
16 Jason Bright 1737
17 Steven Johnson 1621
18 Michael Patrizi 1397
19 Dean Fiore 1395
20 Steve Owen 1393
21 James Moffat 1354
22 Todd Kelly 1263
23 Tony D’Alberto 1176
24 Karl Reindler 1147
25 David Wall 1142
26 Taz Douglas 1079
27 Alexandre Premat  942
28 Greg Murphy  649

Comments are closed.