Will Davison wins 2012 finale in Sydney

Sunday 2nd December, 2012


Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©

Will Davison has won the final race of the 2012 V8 Supercars Championship

Will Davison has won the final race of the 2012 V8 Supercars Championship

Will Davison and Ford Performance Racing have farewelled the current generation of V8 Supercars with victory in the 2012 season finale at Sydney Olympic Park.

Starting second on the grid, Davison squeezed past pole-sitter Garth Tander on the fifth lap of the race and was only headed during the pitstop cycles thereafter.

Craig Lowndes finished second having jumped eventual third place finisher James Courtney in the second and final round of pitstops.

Davison crosses the finish line

Davison crosses the finish line in Sydney

Lowndes kept Davison honest in the closing stages, with the final margin between the pair just 2.6s.

The win is the 14th of Davison’s career and FPR’s 11th of the season, ensuring only the factory Ford team and TeamVodafone won races in 2012.

Filling fourth through 10th were Tim Slade, Jamie Whincup, Jonathon Webb, David Reynolds, Steve Owen, Jason Bright and Steven Johnson.

Mark Winterbottom finished just 18th after suffering a midrace puncture, ensuring the Orrcon FPR Falcon driver would lose second in the standings to Lowndes.

Winterbottom had earlier dropped to the back of the field after being pushed into the tyre barrier at the opening corner thanks to a bump from James Moffat.

Tander was also hit by a puncture, taking the flag in 16th having run second during the first stint and a half.

The race was run in dry conditions as threatening rain never materialised.

Two Safety Cars punctured the early stages, with the first called on the opening lap thanks to a clutch problem stranding Shane van Gisbergen on the back straight.

Greg Murphy was spun into the Turn 10 exit wall by Michael Patrizi shortly after the restart, causing the yellow flags to fly once more.

Also on the retirements list was David Wall, who suffered damage when spun by Russell Ingall and subsequently collected by James Moffat at Turn 9. Ingall later retired with a broken rear axle.

Tony D’Alberto’s last race in a Falcon ended with gearbox problems, while Michael Caruso retired at the start of the penultimate lap with brake problems having run ninth a short time earlier.

Fabian Coulthard was also a hard luck story – dropping from seventh to 15th over the final three laps as his car ran low on fuel.

Caruso’s team-mate Scott McLaughlin meanwhile put in a solid drive to finish 17th having been called up to replace Alex Premat just an hour before race start.

Result: V8 Supercars Championship Race 30, Sydney Olympic Park

1Trading Post FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG7401:57:50.5999
2TeamVodafoneCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VE27401:57:53.1830
3Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VE27401:57:55.1879
4Lucky 7 RacingTim SladeFord Falcon FG7401:57:58.7939
5TeamVodafoneJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VE27401:58:15.1295
6Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VE27401:58:18.8181
7The Bottle-O Racing TeamDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG7401:58:28.3027
8VIP PetfoodsSteve OwenFord Falcon FG7401:58:36.8652
9Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VE27401:58:38.3088
10Jim Beam RacingSteven JohnsonFord Falcon FG7401:58:39.2610
11Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyHolden Commodore VE27401:58:40.6498
12Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthFord Falcon FG7401:58:42.0781
13Team iSelectTaz DouglasHolden Commodore VE27401:58:46.3043
14Fair Dinkum Sheds RacingKarl ReindlerHolden Commodore VE27401:58:46.9772
15Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VE27401:59:58.3786
16Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VE27301:58:29.4507
17Fujitsu Racing GRMScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VE27301:58:35.4197
18Orrcon Steel FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG7301:58:51.4094
19Tekno AutosportsMichael PatriziHolden Commodore VE27301:59:03.2504
20Jack Daniel’s RacingTim BlanchardHolden Commodore VE27201:59:00.7721
21Jim Beam RacingDean FioreFord Falcon FG6901:57:53.9308
22Team Norton DJRJames MoffatFord Falcon FG6901:59:01.1812
DNFFujitsu Racing GRMMichael CarusoHolden Commodore VE27201:55:58.1945
DNFSupercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VE234   58:00.9814
DNFTeam HiflexTony D’AlbertoFord Falcon FG29   51:07.6128
DNFWilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VE214   27:42.6673
DNFPepsi Max CrewGreg MurphyHolden Commodore VE2 5    9:58.1246
DNFSP Tools RacingShane Van GisbergenFord Falcon FG

Championship standings after Race 30 of 30

1Jamie Whincup3861
2Craig Lowndes3522
3Mark Winterbottom3457
4Will Davison3049
5Tim Slade2790
6Shane Van Gisbergen2554
7Garth Tander2462
8Lee Holdsworth2189
9David Reynolds2187
10James Courtney2153
11Fabian Coulthard2035
12Jonathon Webb1987
13Russell Ingall1960
14Rick Kelly1894
15Michael Caruso1770
16Jason Bright1737
17Steven Johnson1621
18Michael Patrizi1397
19Dean Fiore1395
20Steve Owen1393
21James Moffat1354
22Todd Kelly1263
23Tony D’Alberto1176
24Karl Reindler1147
25David Wall1142
26Taz Douglas1079
27Alexandre Premat 942
28Greg Murphy 649

Comments are closed.