Brad Keselowski wins Sprint Cup title at Homestead

  • Monday 19th November, 2012 9:12am
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©
Brad Keselowski is the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion

Brad Keselowski is the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion

Brad Keselowski has handed legendary team owner Roger Penske his first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series title in the final race of the 2012 season at the Homestead-Miami Speedway.

The 28-year-old Keselowski was assured the championship when rival Jimmie Johnson pulled his Hendrick Chevrolet into the garage with a driveline failure with just 40 laps to go.

Johnson had been in a promising position to overhaul Keselowski’s points lead in the closing stages before a bungled final pitstop necessitated a return to pitlane several laps prior to the eventual failure.

Keselowski’s success also marks Dodge’s first Cup Series championship since Richard Petty scored his sixth crown in 1975. The car manufacturer announced mid-season that it will not continue in the sport next year.

The Homestead race was won by Hendrick driver Jeff Gordon, who led home the Waltrip Toyota of Clint Bowyer just one week after the two drivers and their respective teams clashed on and off track at Phoenix.

The result proved enough for Bowyer to overhaul Johnson for second in the points standings.

Filling third through 10th in the final race were Ryan Newman, Kyle Busch, Greg Biffle, Martin Truex Jr, Aric Almirola, Kevin Harvick, Kurt Busch and Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Australian Marcos Ambrose finished 13th, two places ahead of champion Keselowski.

Result: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, Homestead-Miami









115Jeff GordonChevroletDuPont 20 Years ‘Celebratory’47/1267Running
26Clint BowyerToyota5-hour Energy42/0267Running
319Ryan NewmanChevroletU.S. Army42/1267Running
48Kyle BuschToyotaM&M’s42/2267Running
513Greg BiffleFord3M / SP Richards39/0267Running
67Martin Truex Jr.ToyotaNAPA Auto Parts39/1267Running
75Aric AlmirolaFordSmithfield37/0267Running
823Kevin HarvickChevroletBudweiser36/0267Running
926Kurt BuschChevroletFurniture Row35/0267Running
1016Dale Earnhardt Jr.ChevroletNational Guard / Diet Mountain Dew34/0267Running
1118Paul MenardChevroletMenards / Duracell33/0267Running
124Carl EdwardsFordFastenal32/0267Running
132Marcos AmbroseFordBlack & Decker32/1267Running
141Joey LoganoToyotaThe Home Depot / redbeacon.com30/0267Running
153Brad KeselowskiDodgeMiller Lite29/0267Running
169Mark MartinToyotaAaron’s Dream Machine28/0267Running
1735Tony StewartChevroletOffice Depot / Mobil 127/0267Running
1811Matt KensethFordBest Buy27/1267Running
1933Jeff BurtonChevroletCaterpillar25/0267Running
2014Jamie McMurrayChevroletBass Pro Shops / Tracker Boats24/0267Running
2112Kasey KahneChevroletFarmers Insurance24/1267Running
2217Sam Hornish Jr.DodgeShell / Pennzoil0267Running
2320Trevor BayneFordMotorcraft / Quick Lane0267Running
2441Denny HamlinToyotaFedEx Express20/0267Running
2532Bobby LabonteToyotaClorox19/0265Running
2638Travis KvapilToyotaBurger King18/0265Running
2730Landon CassillToyotaBurger King17/0265Running
2821Juan MontoyaChevroletTarget16/0264Running
2928Casey MearsFordGEICO15/0264Running
3024Regan SmithChevroletPhoenix Construction14/0264Running
3134David RaganFordCertainTeed / 31-W Insulation13/0263Running
3231Dave BlaneyChevroletFlorida Lottery12/0263Running
3340David GillilandFordLong John Silver’s11/0262Running
3437David ReutimannChevroletTMone.com10/0261Running
3539J.J. YeleyChevroletC&C Audio Video & Appliance, Inc.9/0261Running
3610Jimmie JohnsonChevroletLowe’s9/1224In Pit
3742Ken SchraderFordFederated Auto Parts7/0219Out of Race
3822David StremmeToyotaSwan Racing6/0183Out of Race
3927Ricky Stenhouse Jr.FordFifth Third Bank0157In Pit
4036Josh Wise *FordMDS Transport4/038In Pit
4125Michael McDowellFordPhil Parsons Racing3/034In Pit
4243Scott RiggsChevroletNorth Texas Pipe2/023In Pit
4329Mike BlissToyotaPlinker Tactical016Out of Race

Championship standings after 36 of 36 races




1Brad Keselowski2400
2Clint Bowyer2361
3Jimmie Johnson2360
4Kasey Kahne2345
5Greg Biffle2332
6Denny Hamlin2329
7Matt Kenseth2324
8Kevin Harvick2321
9Tony Stewart2311
10Jeff Gordon2303
11Martin Truex Jr.2299
12Dale Earnhardt Jr.2245
13Kyle Busch1133
14Ryan Newman1051
15Carl Edwards1030
16Paul Menard1006
17Joey Logano965
18Marcos Ambrose950
19Jeff Burton883
20Aric Almirola868
21Jamie McMurray868
22Juan Montoya810
23Bobby Labonte772
24Regan Smith747
25Kurt Busch735
26Mark Martin701
27Travis Kvapil638
28David Ragan622
29Casey Mears612
30David Gilliland605
31Landon Cassill598
32AJ Allmendinger453
33Dave Blaney417
34David Reutimann373
35Brian Vickers250
36David Stremme236
37Michael McDowell187
38J.J. Yeley166
39Josh Wise*147
40Ken Schrader146
41Stephen Leicht*126
42Scott Speed124
43Michael Waltrip94
44Terry Labonte94
45Tony Raines71
46Scott Riggs56
47Brendan Gaughan50
48Boris Said34
49Bill Elliott14
50Hermie Sadler13
51Mike Olsen11
52Robby Gordon11
53Mike Skinner10
54Kelly Bires9
55Tomy Drissi6
56Stacy Compton5
57David Mayhew4
58Patrick Long2
59Sam Hornish Jr.0
60Trevor Bayne0
61Ricky Stenhouse Jr.0
62Danica Patrick0
63Timmy Hill0
64Mike Bliss0
65Austin Dillon0
66Robert Richardson Jr.0
67Elliott Sadler0
68Joe Nemechek0
69Reed Sorenson0
70T.J. Bell0
71Jason Leffler0
72Jason White0
73Cole Whitt0
74Chris Cook0
75Tim Andrews0
76Brian Simo0
77Jeff Green0
78Mark Green0
79Mike Wallace0
80Kenny Wallace0

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 -