Lowndes wins Race 28 as Whincup secures fourth title

  • Sunday 18th November, 2012 4:12pm
  • Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©
Jamie Whincup leads at the start of Race 28 today

Jamie Whincup leads at the start of Race 28 today

Jamie Whincup has fought back from a mid-race drive-through-penalty in Race 28 at Winton to secure his fourth V8 Supercars Championship title.

The TeamVodafone Holden driver led the race after the first round of stops but soon dropped to 23rd while serving a drive-through for having his wheels spinning in the pits.

Despite a lack of subsequent Safety Car periods, Whincup clawed his way back through the field to finish third behind race winner Craig Lowndes and title rival Mark Winterbottom.

Shane van Gisbergen held out team-mate Tim Slade for fourth ahead of Jason Bright, Jonathon Webb, David Reynolds, Russell Ingall and Lee Holdsworth.

The result means that Whincup now has a championship lead in excess of the 300 points available at the final round in Sydney, although the possibility of points penalties during next month’s event ensures the title is not yet officially won.

Whincup drove far from conservatively in today’s race, engaging in spirited duels for the lead with Will Davison off the initial start and later on a Safety Car restart.

Davison had elected to start on the soft tyre and sprinted to a 10s lead over the first 15 of 47 laps. A Safety Car, called as James Moffat struggled with electrical problems, subsequently ruined the Tradingpost Ford’s strategy.

Davison inherited the lead when Whincup peeled into pitlane to serve his drive-through on Lap 26 before yielding to team-mate Winterbottom and eventually falling to 11th while on the hard tyres in the third and final stint.

Winterbottom was in the box seat to win the race following the second round of stops but complained of steering problems in his Orrcon Ford and could not match the pace of Lowndes, who slipped by on Lap 44.

The #888 Holden did not hit the lead until just 17 laps remained though as Bright, one of several on a three-stop strategy, had jumped to the front in the second round of stops. The Team BOC Holden dropped to 17th with its final pitstop before charging back to sixth over the final 16 laps.

Whincup’s rise through the field was the real focal point, however, with the TeamVodafone driver moving past Tim Slade and into the fourth placed ‘championship position’ with just five laps to go.

Whincup then managed to overtake van Gisbergen a lap later as the Kiwi saved fuel in order to make it to the finish.

Countryman Greg Murphy fared less well, running out of fuel on the final lap while placed 22nd to be listed as the race’s only retirement.

Others to endure difficult days included Fabian Coulthard (who was pushed off twice in the first stint before three-stopping his way to 12th), Alex Premat (who was involved in several early scuffles, including being spun by Taz Douglas) and Steven Johnson (who served a drive-through penalty for speeding).

Lowndes’ win meanwhile is the three-time champion’s sixth of the year and the 16th in the last 17 races for TeamVodafone.

The 2012 V8 Supercars Championship will conclude with a pair of 250km races around the streets of Sydney Olympic Park on December 1 and 2.

Result: V8 Supercars Race 28, Winton Motor Raceway

1TeamVodafoneCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VE26701:38:39.4858
2Orrcon Steel FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG6701:38:45.2975
3TeamVodafoneJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VE26701:38:48.1383
4SP Tools RacingShane Van GisbergenFord Falcon FG6701:38:55.3215
5Lucky 7 RacingTim SladeFord Falcon FG6701:38:56.5361
6Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VE26701:38:56.9031
7Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VE26701:38:59.4021
8The Bottle-O Racing TeamDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG6701:39:02.0173
9Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VE26701:39:04.4955
10Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthFord Falcon FG6701:39:07.7566
11Trading Post FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG6701:39:09.5128
12Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VE26701:39:12.4264
13Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VE26701:39:13.6046
14Jim Beam RacingDean FioreFord Falcon FG6701:39:24.1764
15Fair Dinkum Sheds RacingKarl ReindlerHolden Commodore VE26701:39:24.6630
16Fujitsu Racing GRMMichael CarusoHolden Commodore VE26701:39:24.9565
17Team Norton DJRJames MoffatFord Falcon FG6701:39:25.0813
18Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VE26701:39:31.2782
19Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyHolden Commodore VE26701:39:39.2556
20VIP PetfoodsSteve OwenFord Falcon FG6701:39:39.8557
21Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematHolden Commodore VE26701:39:48.2213
22Jack Daniel’s RacingTim BlanchardHolden Commodore VE26701:39:57.3433
23Team HiflexTony D’AlbertoFord Falcon FG6701:40:03.0056
24Team iSelectTaz DouglasHolden Commodore VE26701:40:03.5712
25Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VE26701:40:03.6188
26Jim Beam RacingSteven JohnsonFord Falcon FG6601:39:34.7978
27Tekno AutosportsMichael PatriziHolden Commodore VE26601:39:45.5856
DNFPepsi Max CrewGreg MurphyHolden Commodore VE26601:38:19.1022

V8 Supercars Championship standings (top 28) after Race 28 of 30

1Jamie Whincup3639
2Mark Winterbottom3322
3Craig Lowndes3259
4Will Davison2851
5Shane Van Gisbergen2554
6Tim Slade2532
7Garth Tander2363
8Lee Holdsworth2120
9David Reynolds2037
10Fabian Coulthard1975
11James Courtney1895
12Russell Ingall1891
13Jonathon Webb1765
14Rick Kelly1720
15Michael Caruso1692
16Jason Bright1653
17Steven Johnson1543
18Dean Fiore1293
19Michael Patrizi1292
20Todd Kelly1263
21Steve Owen1237
22James Moffat1225
23Tony D’Alberto1104
24David Wall1097
25Karl Reindler 988
26Alexandre Premat 967
27Taz Douglas 962
28Greg Murphy 649


Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Speedcafe.com Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 - Speedcafe.com