Winterbottom edges Whincup for Race 27 pole

Saturday 17th November, 2012


Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©

Mark Winterbottom secured his fourth pole of the season

Mark Winterbottom secured his fourth pole of the season

Mark Winterbottom will share the front-row of the grid with Jamie Whincup for Race 27 of the V8 Supercars Championship at Winton after the Ford driver came out on top in a close qualifying battle.

The Ford Performance Racing Ford proved 0.07s quicker than Whincup’s TeamVodafone Holden on the first soft tyre runs before Winterbottom increased the gap to 0.16s by running faster on his second set.

The result marks Winterbottom’s fourth Armor All Pole Award of the season and the fourth in succession for FPR.

Whincup’s earlier effort remained good enough for second on the grid ahead of a late-improving Jason Bright.

Shane van Gisbergen, James Moffat, Lee Holdsworth, James Courtney, Rick Kelly and David Reynolds completed the top 10.

Regular front-runners Craig Lowndes and Will Davison both struggled throughout the session to record the 15th and 16th fastest times respectively.

The result ensures Lowndes’ car will start outside the top six for the eighth consecutive race, while Davison’s previous worst effort in a qualifying session this season had been a ninth at Barbagallo.

The 140km Race 27 is scheduled to get underway at 1605 local time.

Result: V8 Supercars Race 27 Qualifying, Winton Motor Raceway

1Orrcon Steel FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG1:23.1443
2TeamVodafoneJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VE21:23.30190:00.1576
3Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VE21:23.44220:00.2979
4SP Tools RacingShane Van GisbergenFord Falcon FG1:23.45050:00.3062
5Team Norton DJRJames MoffatFord Falcon FG1:23.48790:00.3436
6Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthFord Falcon FG1:23.58080:00.4365
7Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VE21:23.58750:00.4432
8Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VE21:23.59630:00.4520
9Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyHolden Commodore VE21:23.60660:00.4623
10The Bottle-O Racing TeamDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG1:23.61390:00.4696
11Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VE21:23.65230:00.5080
12Team HiflexTony D’AlbertoFord Falcon FG1:23.66130:00.5170
13VIP PetfoodsSteve OwenFord Falcon FG1:23.68890:00.5446
14Fujitsu Racing GRMMichael CarusoHolden Commodore VE21:23.69180:00.5475
15TeamVodafoneCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VE21:23.71150:00.5672
16Trading Post FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG1:23.73010:00.5858
17Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematHolden Commodore VE21:23.78650:00.6422
18Lucky 7 RacingTim SladeFord Falcon FG1:23.79930:00.6550
19Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VE21:23.86010:00.7158
20Team iSelectTaz DouglasHolden Commodore VE21:23.89670:00.7524
21Fair Dinkum Sheds RacingKarl ReindlerHolden Commodore VE21:23.98050:00.8362
22Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VE21:24.00510:00.8608
23Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VE21:24.03190:00.8876
24Tekno AutosportsMichael PatriziHolden Commodore VE21:24.03700:00.8927
25Jim Beam RacingDean FioreFord Falcon FG1:24.11160:00.9673
26Pepsi Max CrewGreg MurphyHolden Commodore VE21:24.11970:00.9754
27Jim Beam RacingSteven JohnsonFord Falcon FG1:24.13860:00.9943
28Jack Daniel’s RacingTim BlanchardHolden Commodore VE21:24.21730:01.0730

See below for’s Winton Race Guide

Comments are closed.