Percat takes third consecutive Dunlop Series race win

Saturday 17th November, 2012


Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©

Nick Percat has won Race 1 of the Dunlop Series at Winton

Nick Percat has won Race 1 of the Dunlop Series at Winton

Nick Percat has continued to close the gap to Dunlop Series leader Chaz Mostert by taking victory in Race 1 at Winton’s penultimate round.

Starting second on the grid, Percat shot to the lead in the opening metres and was not headed for the duration.

The win is Percat’s fifth of the season, the most of any driver, and his third in succession following a double victory in the preceding round at Bathurst.

Mostert meanwhile dropped to a low of seventh in the opening corners following a slow start, eventually recovering to fifth by edging Andrew Jones off the road at the exit of Turn 4 on the final lap.

Scott Pye shadowed Percat for the entire 12 lap journey to finish 1.3s behind the Coates Hire Commodore in second.

Luke Youlden held off fellow Falcon driver Scott McLaughlin to score third in a processional race at the front.

Filling sixth through 10th at the flag were Dale Wood, Andrew Jones, Ash Walsh, Elliot Barbour and Geoff Emery.

The results see Mostert’s points lead over second placed McLaughlin reduced to 13 points with Percat just 80 further adrift in third.

Race 2 for the weekend will kick-off at 0930 local time tomorrow.

Result: Dunlop Series Race 1, Winton Motor Raceway

1Coates Hire RacingNick PercatHolden Commodore VE21217:19.9532
2Triple Eight Race EngineeringScott PyeHolden Commodore VE1217:21.3693
3MW MotorsportLuke YouldenFord Falcon FG1217:26.7352
4Fujitsu RacingScott McLaughlinFord Falcon FG1217:27.4056
5Ford Performance RacingChaz MostertFord Falcon FG1217:31.3050
6GB Galvanizing/Wilson TechDale WoodHolden Commodore VE1217:32.5987
7FrauenfelderAndrew JonesHolden Commodore VE1217:33.3651
8Simpro RacingAshley WalshFord Falcon FG1217:33.7281
9MW MotorsportElliot BarbourFord Falcon BF1217:36.2064
10R&J Batteries/EarthEx LogisticGeoff EmeryHolden Commodore VE1217:39.4503
11Bob Jane T-Marts/Sitech/SonicGeorge MiedeckeFord Falcon BF1217:40.3547
12Bob Jane T-MartsRodney JaneFord Falcon FG1217:42.2443
13Go Karts GoDrew RussellFord Falcon BF1217:44.3080
14Go Karts GoAaren RussellFord Falcon BF1217:50.3719
15Wolfchester / BahcoGlen WoodHolden Commodore VE21217:50.6512
16GSS Mining RentalsMarcus ZukanovicHolden Commodore VE1217:57.5618
17Warrin Mining/Volvo Const EquiAdam WallisHolden Commodore VE1217:58.2298
18Carrington Equipment GroupMichael HectorFord Falcon BF1218:01.3639
19Formula Tech/Interquip RacingBrett StewartHolden Commodore VE1218:08.6487
20Pacific HoistsNandi KissHolden Commodore VE1218:15.0130

Comments are closed.