Keselowski in box seat after dramatic Phoenix race

Monday 12th November, 2012


Author: SpeedCafe ©

Jimmie Johnson crashed after a brake-heat induced tyre failure

Jimmie Johnson crashed after a brake-heat induced tyre failure

The Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup has taken a dramatic twist in its penultimate race at Phoenix, where a crash from Jimmie Johnson allowed Brad Keselowski to take a comfortable points lead.

Johnson blew a tyre and slammed into the Turn 4 exit wall with 76 laps to go, causing significant damage to the right-side of the #48 Hendrick Chevrolet. The five-time champion returned to the circuit to finish 32nd – 26 places behind title rival Keselowski.

The result has turned Johnson’s seven point lead into a 20 point deficit, meaning that, even if Johnson scores maximum points, the #2 Penske Dodge need only finish inside the top 15 next weekend at Homestead to secure the crown.

The AdvoCare 500 at Phoenix was won by Kevin Harvick, who led home Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Kasey Kahne, Ryan Newman and Keselowski in a wild finish.

Two big wrecks occurred in the closing stages. The first saw a limping Jeff Gordon deliberately fence Clint Bowyer as payback for earlier contact, leading to trackside fisticuffs between the pair and their respective crews.

The race was restarted after a 15 minute red flag, with a second major wreck – this time due to oil dropped in a penultimate lap incident for Danica Patrick – occurring as the field took the chequered flag. Keselowski only narrowly escaped both accidents.

Australian Marcos Ambrose also survived all of the carnage to finish with a straight #9 Richard Petty Motorsports Ford to finish 18th.

Ironically, the first victory of the season for both Harvick and Richard Childress Racing comes amid speculation that the long-time driver-team combination will split up after the 2013 season, with Harvick tipped to be heading to reigning championship winning squad Stewart-Haas Racing.

See below for the full race result









119Kevin HarvickChevroletBudweiser47/1319Running
23Denny HamlinToyotaFedEx Ground43/1319Running
31Kyle BuschToyotaM&M’s43/2319Running
44Kasey KahneChevroletFarmers Insurance40/0319Running
512Ryan NewmanChevroletQuicken Loans40/1319Running
614Brad KeselowskiDodgeMiller Lite39/1319Running
720Greg BiffleFordFiltrete37/0319Running
86Kurt BuschChevroletFurniture Row36/0319Running
97Paul MenardChevroletMenards / Rheem35/0319Running
1010Mark MartinToyotaAaron’s Dream Machine35/1319Running
1113Carl EdwardsFordFastenal33/0319Running
1221Juan MontoyaChevroletTarget32/0319Running
1333Jeff BurtonChevroletCaterpillar31/0319Running
1422Matt KensethFordFord EcoBoost30/0319Running
1530Bobby LabonteToyotaVektor Vodka29/0319Running
165Aric AlmirolaFordFarmland28/0319Running
1737Danica PatrickChevroletGoDaddy.com0319Running
1817Marcos AmbroseFordBlack & Decker26/0319Running
1939Travis KvapilToyotaBurger King26/1319Running
209Tony StewartChevroletMobil 1 / Office Depot24/0319Running
2123Dale Earnhardt Jr.ChevroletDiet Mountain Dew23/0317Running
2225Casey MearsFordGEICO22/0317Running
2318Jamie McMurrayChevroletBass Pro Shops / Allstate21/0317Running
248Regan SmithChevroletPhoenix Construction20/0316Running
2527Landon CassillToyotaBurger King19/0316Running
2642Dave BlaneyChevroletAccell Construction18/0316Running
2715Joey LoganoToyotaDollar General17/0312In Pit
2816Clint BowyerToyota5-hour Energy16/0312In Pit
2941Timmy HillFordU.S. Chrome / TMone15/0312Running
3011Jeff GordonChevroletDuPont14/0309In Pit
3126Sam Hornish Jr.DodgeShell / Pennzoil0299In Pit
3224Jimmie JohnsonChevroletLowe’s / Kobalt Tools12/0281Running
3329David RaganFordCertainTeed / 31-W Insulation11/0280In Pit
3432David StremmeToyotaInception Motorsports10/086In Pit
3535Stephen Leicht *ChevroletLittle Joes Autos.com9/074In Pit
3631David GillilandFordLoan Mart8/050In Pit
3738Josh Wise *FordMDS Transport7/050In Pit
3828Michael McDowellFordPhil Parsons Racing6/036In Pit
3943Joe NemechekToyotaAM-FM Energy030In Pit
4034David ReutimannFordNo Label Watcher4/028In Pit
4136Mike BlissToyotaPlinker Tactical / Value Place015In Pit
4240Jason LefflerToyotaPlinker Tactical / Value Place010In Pit
432Martin Truex Jr.ToyotaNAPA Auto Parts1/010Out of Race

See below for the updates points standings




1Brad Keselowski2371
2Jimmie Johnson2351
3Kasey Kahne2321
4Clint Bowyer2319
5Denny Hamlin2309
6Matt Kenseth2297
7Greg Biffle2293
8Kevin Harvick2285
9Tony Stewart2283
10Jeff Gordon2281
11Martin Truex Jr.2260
12Dale Earnhardt Jr.2211
13Kyle Busch1091
14Ryan Newman1009
15Carl Edwards998
16Paul Menard973
17Joey Logano935
18Marcos Ambrose918
19Jeff Burton858
20Jamie McMurray844
21Aric Almirola831
22Juan Montoya794
23Bobby Labonte753
24Regan Smith733
25Kurt Busch700
26Mark Martin673
27Travis Kvapil621
28David Ragan609
29Casey Mears597
30David Gilliland594
31Landon Cassill581
32AJ Allmendinger453
33Dave Blaney405
34David Reutimann363
35Brian Vickers250
36David Stremme230
37Michael McDowell184
38J.J. Yeley157
39Josh Wise*143
40Ken Schrader139
41Stephen Leicht*126
42Scott Speed124
43Michael Waltrip94
44Terry Labonte94
45Tony Raines71
46Scott Riggs54
47Brendan Gaughan50
48Boris Said34
49Timmy Hill15
50Bill Elliott14
51Hermie Sadler13
52Mike Olsen11
53Robby Gordon11
54Mike Skinner10
55Kelly Bires9
56Tomy Drissi6
57Stacy Compton5
58David Mayhew4
59Patrick Long2
60Sam Hornish Jr.0
61Trevor Bayne0
62Ricky Stenhouse Jr.0
63Danica Patrick0
64Austin Dillon0
65Mike Bliss0
66Elliott Sadler0
67Robert Richardson Jr.0
68Joe Nemechek0
69Reed Sorenson0
70T.J. Bell0
71Jason White0
72Jason Leffler0
73Cole Whitt0
74Chris Cook0
75Tim Andrews0
76Brian Simo0
77Mark Green0
78Jeff Green0
79Mike Wallace0
80Kenny Wallace0

Comments are closed.