Pedrosa upstages Lorenzo, Stoner at Valencia

  • Saturday 10th November, 2012 11:54pm
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©
Dani Pedrosa

Dani Pedrosa

Dani Pedrosa has broken the Valencian lap record to take a stunning pole position for the final MotoGP race of the 2012 season.

The Repsol Honda rider set a 1:30.84s, beating his season-long rivals Jorge Lorenzo and Casey Stoner by nearly half a second.

Stoner, in the final MotoGP race of his career before retiring, held the top spot in the critical final 10 minutes, only to be overcome by Lorenzo.

Stoner came back out onto the circuit and returned to the top of the time sheets, only for Pedrosa to blow both of their times away with his pole lap.

Lorenzo’s final tour edged him back in front of Stoner, but was no where near the blistering Pedrosa.

Cal Crutchlow will start fourth, ahead of Stefan Bradl and Andrea Dovizioso

Rounding out the top 10 is Ducati rider Nicky Hayden, Alvaro Bautista, Hector Barbera and Aleix Espargaro – the first of the CRT entries.

The race will be held tomorrow, with wet weather predicted to play a part in the event.

Qualifying, Valencia

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
126Dani PEDROSASPARepsol Honda TeamHonda326.41’30.844
299Jorge LORENZOSPAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha321.41’31.1950.351 / 0.351
31Casey STONERAUSRepsol Honda TeamHonda322.91’31.4280.584 / 0.233
435Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha321.41’31.5120.668 / 0.084
56Stefan BRADLGERLCR Honda MotoGPHonda324.81’31.7570.913 / 0.245
64Andrea DOVIZIOSOITAMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha321.61’31.7950.951 / 0.038
769Nicky HAYDENUSADucati TeamDucati320.71’32.5031.659 / 0.708
819Alvaro BAUTISTASPASan Carlo Honda GresiniHonda323.51’32.5851.741 / 0.082
98Hector BARBERASPAPramac Racing TeamDucati327.01’32.6051.761 / 0.020
1041Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPower Electronics AsparART305.71’32.8341.990 / 0.229
1146Valentino ROSSIITADucati TeamDucati319.61’32.8772.033 / 0.043
1214Randy DE PUNIETFRAPower Electronics AsparART306.41’33.3462.502 / 0.469
1317Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingDucati320.31’33.4422.598 / 0.096
145Colin EDWARDSUSANGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter309.31’33.4532.609 / 0.011
1551Michele PIRROITASan Carlo Honda GresiniFTR303.81’33.9713.127 / 0.518
1621Katsuyuki NAKASUGAJPNYamaha Factory RacingYamaha315.91’33.9793.135 / 0.008
179Danilo PETRUCCIITACame IodaRacing ProjectIoda-Suter300.01’33.9803.136 / 0.001
1822Ivan SILVASPAAvintia BlusensBQR300.91’34.4073.563 / 0.427
1984Roberto ROLFOITASpeed MasterART303.91’34.8664.022 / 0.459
2077James ELLISONGBRPaul Bird MotorsportART304.61’34.9184.074 / 0.052
2173Hiroshi AOYAMAJPNAvintia BlusensBQR309.11’35.3634.519 / 0.445
2271Claudio CORTIITAAvintia BlusensInmotec300.01’36.5315.687 / 1.168


Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 -