Jimmie Johnson scores back-to-back wins in Texas

  • Monday 5th November, 2012 10:31am
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©

Jimmie Johnson’s win in Texas has him closing-in on his sixth title

Jimmie Johnson has backed-up his win last week at Martinsville with a thrilling victory at the AAA Texas 500 at the ultra-fast Texas Motor Speedway.

Johnson pushed past leader, and championship rival, Brad Keselowski on a Green-White-Checkered finish to edge his lead to seven points with two races left to run at Phoenix and Homestead-Miami.

The pair battled throughout the 500 mile race with paint exchanged at times. Sitting in for the ride was Kyle Busch, who also had his chance to take the victory.

With long green flag runs during the race both Johnson and Keselowski enjoyed plenty of time at the front of the field. An economy run to the finish was ended when Australia’s Marcos Ambrose hit the wall after having a tyre go down.

The final round of stops saw Keselowski go to the lead after taking just right-side tyres, as compared to four all-round for both Johnson and Busch.

Keselowski appeared to be in the box seat, but another caution at the end gave Johnson his chance off the final re-start and he took it.

Ambrose ran inside the top-10, but when the sun went down so did the Tasmanian. The accident saw him placed 32nd 25-laps behind.

Despite the result Ambrose was pleased with the weekend with new crew chief Crew Chief Drew Blickensderfer.

“It’s a shame that we didn’t get the end result we deserved, but the early signs are that we are going to be strong,” said Ambrose.

“We’re communicating well, and improving the car with each session.

“Running with those guys in the fight for the Chase is a great feeling, and of lot of that came down to some smart work in the pits.

“We were front runners at Phoenix earlier this year, and we’ll head there next week with an aggressive mindset.”

Unofficial Race Results : AAA Texas 500








1Jimmie JohnsonChevroletLowe’s48/2335Running
2Brad KeselowskiDodgeMiller Lite43/1335Running
3Kyle BuschToyotaSnickers42/1335Running
4Matt KensethFordFord EcoBoost41/1335Running
5Tony StewartChevroletOffice Depot / Mobil 139/0335Running
6Clint BowyerToyota5-hour Energy38/0335Running
7Dale Earnhardt Jr.ChevroletNational Guard / Diet Mountain Dew37/0335Running
8Kurt BuschChevroletFurniture Row36/0335Running
9Kevin HarvickChevroletRheem / Budweiser35/0335Running
10Greg BiffleFord3M34/0335Running
11Joey LoganoToyotaThe Home Depot / redbeacon.com33/0335Running
12Ryan NewmanChevroletQuicken Loans33/1335Running
13Martin Truex Jr.ToyotaCarlyle Tools by NAPA31/0335Running
14Jeff GordonChevroletDrive to End Hunger30/0335Running
15Aric AlmirolaFordFarmland29/0335Running
16Carl EdwardsFordAflac28/0335Running
17Sam Hornish Jr.DodgeShell / Pennzoil0335Running
18Jamie McMurrayChevroletMcDonald’s26/0335Running
19Jeff BurtonChevroletCaterpillar25/0335Running
20Denny HamlinToyotaFedEx Office24/0335Running
21Casey MearsFordGEICO23/0335Running
22Trevor BayneFordMotorcraft / Quick Lane Tire & Auto Center0335Running
23Travis KvapilToyotaDr Pepper22/1335Running
24Danica PatrickChevroletGoDaddy.com0335Running
25Kasey KahneChevroletHendrickCars.com / Great Clips19/0335Running
26Landon CassillToyotaBurger King18/0333Running
27Paul MenardChevroletQuaker State / Menards17/0332Running
28David RaganFordCertainTeed / 31-W Insulation16/0331Running
29Mark MartinToyotaAaron’s Dream Machine15/0329Running
30Scott SpeedFordB&D Electrical / TWD14/0328Running
31Ken SchraderFordFederated Auto Parts13/0328Running
32Marcos AmbroseFordMac Tools12/0310Running
33Bobby LabonteToyotaWounded Warrior Project11/0284Running
34Juan MontoyaChevroletHuggies10/0279Running
35David GillilandFordLong John Silver’s9/0225Out of Race
36AJ AllmendingerChevroletPhoenix Construction8/0107Running
37Josh Wise *FordMDS Transport7/041In Pit
38Michael McDowellFordPhil Parsons Racing6/037In Pit
39Dave BlaneyChevroletTommy Baldwin Racing5/037In Pit
40Joe NemechekToyotaAM / FM Energy Wood & Pellet Stoves033In Pit
41Mike BlissToyotaPlinker Tactical / MCM Elegante032In Pit
42J.J. YeleyChevroletMaxQworkforce.com2/010In Pit
43Reed SorensonToyotaPlinker Tactical / MCM Elegante06Out of Race

* Denotes Rookie


Unofficial Driver Standings:  Race 34 of 36










TOP 10

1Jimmie Johnson2339Leader34451824
2Brad Keselowski2332-734051322
3Clint Bowyer2303-363403922
4Kasey Kahne2281-5834421118
5+3Matt Kenseth2267-7234131319
6Jeff Gordon2267-7234211017
7-2Denny Hamlin2266-7334351316
8+2Tony Stewart2259-8034131216
9-2Martin Truex Jr.2259-803410718
10-1Greg Biffle2256-8334321119
11Kevin Harvick2238-1013400412
12Dale Earnhardt Jr.2188-15132111019
13Kyle Busch1048-129134111118
14+1Ryan Newman969-13703401412
15-1Carl Edwards965-13743410313
16Paul Menard938-1401340018
17Joey Logano918-14213411212
18Marcos Ambrose892-1447342138


Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Speedcafe.com Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 - Speedcafe.com