Whincup doubles up in Abu Dhabi Race 2

  • Saturday 3rd November, 2012 6:15pm
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©
Jamie Whincup took his second win of the weekend in Race 25

Jamie Whincup took his second win of the weekend in Race 25

Jamie Whincup is on course to clean-sweep the V8 Supercars Championship event in Abu Dhabi after taking another commanding victory in Race 2 of the weekend.

The TeamVodafone Holden driver out-dragged pole-sitter Will Davison off the line before steadily pulling away to a 2.8 s victory.

Davison and Shane van Gisbergen completed the podium in a repeat of the opening race result.

CLICK HERE for the Race 24 report and result from earlier today

Mark Winterbottom did his best to minimise the points loss with fourth, taking the flag just 0.5s behind a fading van Gisbergen.

Garth Tander, Tim Slade, David Reynolds, Lee Holdsworth, Jonathon Webb and Fabian Coulthard completed the top 10.

Holdsworth ran fourth in the early stages before losing position to Winterbottom and Tander. A subsequent spin then dropped the IRWIN Ford behind Slade and Reynolds, who enjoyed a tight battle over the 12 lap journey.

Further down the order it was another tough race for Alex Premat, who finished just 25th after an early race spin thanks to contact from Steve Owen at Turn 17.

Steven Johnson took the chequered flag three places further up the road in 22nd having endured a spin of his own in amongst the mid-pack shuffle at Turn 1.

Whincup now leads the standings by 270 points with five races remaining.

“So far so good,” he said of his weekend so far.

“Obviously to win around here you’ve got to have a very, very good car and I had that today.

“I’m sure that the other boys will make some tweaks and changes to their suspension for tomorrow so we’ll have to step up our game.”

The third and final 12 lap race of the weekend will take place on Sunday at 1330 local time (1930 AEST).

The grid for Race 26 was set during yesterday’s qualifying session and will see Davison start from pole ahead of Whincup and van Gisbergen.

CLICK HERE for Speedcafe.com’s qualifying report and results

See below for the full Race 25 result

1TeamVodafoneJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VE21226:48.8530
2Trading Post FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG1226:51.6540
3SP Tools RacingShane Van GisbergenFord Falcon FG1226:57.5610
4Orrcon Steel FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG1226:58.0630
5Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VE21227:03.5730
6Lucky 7 RacingTim SladeFord Falcon FG1227:06.8240
7The Bottle-O Racing TeamDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG1227:08.4520
8Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthFord Falcon FG1227:13.5490
9Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VE21227:18.2120
10Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VE21227:18.9470
11TeamVodafoneCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VE21227:18.9910
12Kelly RacingRick KellyHolden Commodore VE21227:21.1290
13Team Norton DJRJames MoffatFord Falcon FG1227:22.6750
14Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VE21227:23.3210
15Fujitsu Racing GRMMichael CarusoHolden Commodore VE21227:23.5500
16Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VE21227:27.2110
17Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VE21227:28.7160
18Tekno AutosportsMichael PatriziHolden Commodore VE21227:29.4030
19Team HiflexTony D’AlbertoFord Falcon FG1227:30.3020
20VIP PetfoodsSteve OwenFord Falcon FG1227:31.4750
21Fair Dinkum Sheds RacingKarl ReindlerHolden Commodore VE21227:31.7420
22Dick Johnson RacingSteven JohnsonFord Falcon FG1227:32.4510
23Dick Johnson RacingDean FioreFord Falcon FG1227:39.0320
24Team iSelectTaz DouglasHolden Commodore VE21227:39.5100
25Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematHolden Commodore VE21227:43.5850
26Kelly RacingTim BlanchardHolden Commodore VE21227:45.9910
27Pepsi Max CrewGreg MurphyHolden Commodore VE21227:47.7470
28Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VE21228:01.8570

See below for the updated championship standings

1Jamie Whincup3260
2Mark Winterbottom2990
3Craig Lowndes2923
4Will Davison2687
5Shane Van Gisbergen2354
6Tim Slade2233
7Garth Tander2168
8David Reynolds1854
9Lee Holdsworth1853
10Fabian Coulthard1791
11James Courtney1767
12Russell Ingall1700
13Jonathon Webb1623
14Michael Caruso1595
15Rick Kelly1550
16Jason Bright1506
17Steven Johnson1425
18Todd Kelly1263
19Dean Fiore1207
20Michael Patrizi1152
21Steve Owen1127
22James Moffat 992
23Tony D’Alberto 991
24David Wall 989
25Taz Douglas 892
26Karl Reindler 886
27Alexandre Premat 832
28Greg Murphy 649

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Abu Dhabi Race Guide

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Speedcafe.com Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 - Speedcafe.com