Davison edges Whincup for Bathurst 1000 pole

  • Saturday 6th October, 2012 5:09pm
  • Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©
Will Davison will start from pole at Mount Panorama

Will Davison will start from pole at Mount Panorama

The Will Davison/John McIntyre Trading Post FPR Falcon will start Sunday’s Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 from pole position after coming out on top in a typically tense Top 10 Shootout.

The fourth-last driver on the circuit, Davison ran a 2:08.07s lap to eclipse the existing fastest time of Shane van Gisbergen.

The final three runners – Mark Winterbottom, Fabian Coulthard and Jamie Whincup – all failed to knock Davison from the top spot, with Whincup coming closest on 2:08.10s to secure second.

Van Gisbergen’s time held up for third with Winterbottom, Coulthard, Garth Tander, Tim Slade, David Reynolds, Craig Lowndes and Steve Owen rounding out the top 10.

Will Davison and John McIntyre celebrate their Bathurst 1000 Armor All pole position

Will Davison and John McIntyre celebrate their Bathurst 1000 Armor All pole position

The session was held in dry conditions as predicted rain failed to materialise.

Speaking to his team immediately after what would turn out to be the pole winning lap, Davison described his car as “loose but not too bad … I was just chasing the rear the whole lap.”

The 2009 race winner had earlier suffered from major understeer during his qualifying simulation run in the morning’s Practice 6.

The Armor All Pole Award is Davison’s fifth of the year, equaling the total of Craig Lowndes.

See below for the full Top 10 Shootout result

1 Trading Post FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG2:08.0693
2 TeamVodafoneJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VE22:08.10080:00.0315
3 SP Tools RacingShane Van GisbergenFord Falcon FG2:08.17910:00.1098
4 Orrcon Steel FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG2:08.19630:00.1270
5 Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VE22:08.33850:00.2692
6 Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VE22:08.47550:00.4062
7 Lucky 7 RacingTim SladeFord Falcon FG2:08.59950:00.5302
8 The Bottle-O RacingDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG2:08.88660:00.8173
9 TeamVodafoneCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VE22:09.09970:01.0304
10 VIP PetfoodsSteve OwenFord Falcon FG2:10.07230:02.0030

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Race Guide.

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Speedcafe.com Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 - Speedcafe.com