TeamVodafone asserts its authority prior to qualifying

Friday 5th October, 2012


Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©

Jamie Whincup has set the fastest time in the final practice

Jamie Whincup has set the fastest time in the final practice at Bathurst

TeamVodafone duo Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes have asserted their authority over the field in the final practice session prior to qualifying for the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Whincup completed a single lap on new tyres in the closing stages of the 50 minute session, jumping from outside the top 20 to the top spot by clocking a 2:07.50s.

Lowndes was 0.58s adrift after his similarly late effort, leaving Whincup as the only driver able to break into the 2:07s on the sun-bathed circuit.

Will Davison was the best of the rest in his Trading Post FPR entry, a full 0.73s slower than Whincup.

Steve Owen, James Courtney, Fabian Coulthard, Michael Caruso, Mark Winterbottom, Jason Bright and Shane van Gisbergen filled fourth through 10th.

The session was interrupted by two red flag periods.

The first was called for Tony D’Alberto’s Falcon, which became momentarily stranded at the top of the Mountain after a graze with the wall at Sulman Park damaged his right-front tyre, pitching him through the gravel at McPhillamy.

D'Alberto hit trouble on his first flyer

D’Alberto hit trouble on his first flyer

Tim Slade caused the second red flag a short time after the restart by parking his Lucky 7 Falcon against the tyre barriers in the Murray’s Corner gravel. The Stone Brothers Racing prepared entry returned to the track in the final 10 minutes after repairs to its right-front corner.

Jack Perkins was the only co-driver to turn laps in the session, briefly heading the order before handing over the #33 Fujitsu Holden to Alexandre Premat.

Coulthard, Bright, Winterbottom, Van Gisbergen, Lowndes, Courtney and Davison also had fleeting moments at the top of the time sheets as the 50 minutes unfolded.

The 40 minute qualifying session is scheduled to commence at 1445 local time.

See below for the full Practice 5 result

1Jamie WhincupHolden Commodore VE22:07.5000
2Craig LowndesHolden Commodore VE22:08.07850:00.5785
3Will DavisonFord Falcon FG2:08.22650:00.7265
4Steve OwenFord Falcon FG2:08.23450:00.7345
5James CourtneyHolden Commodore VE22:08.24290:00.7429
6Fabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VE22:08.26690:00.7669
7Michael CarusoHolden Commodore VE22:08.26930:00.7693
8Mark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG2:08.36520:00.8652
9Jason BrightHolden Commodore VE22:08.36630:00.8663
10Shane Van GisbergenFord Falcon FG2:08.40660:00.9066
11Lee HoldsworthFord Falcon FG2:08.41150:00.9115
12Garth TanderHolden Commodore VE22:08.43620:00.9362
13David ReynoldsFord Falcon FG2:08.45850:00.9585
14Jonathon WebbHolden Commodore VE22:08.71650:01.2165
15Rick KellyHolden Commodore VE22:08.84350:01.3435
16Russell IngallHolden Commodore VE22:08.89970:01.3997
17Greg MurphyHolden Commodore VE22:08.95000:01.4500
18Steven JohnsonFord Falcon FG2:08.98840:01.4884
19A.Premat/J.PerkinsHolden Commodore VE22:09.02520:01.5252
20Michael PatriziHolden Commodore VE22:09.02730:01.5273
21James MoffatFord Falcon FG2:09.17990:01.6799
22David WallHolden Commodore VE22:09.20280:01.7028
23Tim SladeFord Falcon FG2:09.31400:01.8140
24Dean FioreFord Falcon FG2:09.33380:01.8338
25Taz DouglasHolden Commodore VE22:09.39250:01.8925
26Todd KellyHolden Commodore VE22:09.65630:02.1563
27Karl ReindlerHolden Commodore VE22:09.76750:02.2675
28Cameron WatersHolden Commodore VE22:10.79660:03.2966
29Tony D’AlbertoFord Falcon FG

See below for’s Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Race Guide.

Comments are closed.