Scott McLaughlin leads the way in Practice 4

  • Friday 5th October, 2012 10:13am
  • Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©
Tekno Autosports driver Scott McLaughlin has topped the times at Mount Panorama this morning

Tekno Autosports driver Scott McLaughlin has topped the times at Mount Panorama this morning

Dunlop Series points leader Scott McLaughlin has kicked off a busy day of double duties at Mount Panorama by topping the co-drivers only Practice 4 ahead of Sunday’s Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

McLaughlin, who stepped into Jonathon Webb’s Tekno Autosports Holden after completing the preceding Dunlop Series qualifying session in his Matt Stone Ford, put in a series of fast laps in the final minutes, stopping the clocks at 2:08.97s after the chequered flag fell.

The lap edged Paul Dumbrell’s best effort by 0.15s. The TeamVodafone driver set his time on just the second of his 14 laps, ensuring he would hold the top spot for almost 40 of the 45 minutes.

John McIntyre and Steven Richards were third and fourth fastest respectively at the end of the running, while Greg Ritter, Cameron McConville, David Besnard, Dean Canto, Nick Percat and Andrew Jones completed the top 10.

Warren Luff and Jack Perkins spent much of the session in the 10 before slipping to 11th and 12th respectively in the closing stages.

The majority of crews spent the 45 minutes making continual adjustments to their cars as they continue to search for a fast yet comfortable handling balance for the part-time drivers.

Shannons Supercar Showdown competition winner Jesse Dixon was the biggest improver of all, lapping more than two seconds faster than his Thursday best to move himself off of the bottom of the time sheets.

Dixon pushed the limits of the circuit during his 18 laps – receiving a bad sportsmanship flag for overuse of the kerbs through The Esses.

Held in warm and sunny conditions, the session was completed without incident.

Practice 5 is scheduled for 1100 local time.

See below for the full Practice 4 result

1Tekno AutosportsScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VE22:08.9697
2TeamVodafonePaul DumbrellHolden Commodore VE22:09.11670:00.1470
3Trading Post FPR FordJohn McIntyreFord Falcon FG2:09.19570:00.2260
4Orrcon Steel FPR FordSteven RichardsFord Falcon FG2:09.22110:00.2514
5Fujitsu Racing GRMGreg RitterHolden Commodore VE22:09.27860:00.3089
6Holden Racing TeamCameron McConvilleHolden Commodore VE22:09.39520:00.4255
7Lockwood RacingDavid BesnardHolden Commodore VE22:09.51810:00.5484
8The Bottle-O Racing TeamDean CantoFord Falcon FG2:09.58260:00.6129
9Holden Racing TeamNick PercatHolden Commodore VE22:09.58880:00.6191
10Team BOCAndrew JonesHolden Commodore VE22:09.61110:00.6414
11TeamVodafoneWarren LuffHolden Commodore VE22:09.63160:00.6619
12Fujitsu Racing GRMJack PerkinsHolden Commodore VE22:09.63830:00.6686
13Jim Beam RacingMatthew HallidayFord Falcon FG2:09.82440:00.8547
14Irwin RacingCraig BairdFord Falcon FG2:09.86770:00.8980
15Team Norton DJRAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG2:09.92330:00.9536
16SP Tools RacingLuke YouldenFord Falcon FG2:09.98240:01.0127
17Fair Dinkum Sheds RacingDaniel GauntHolden Commodore VE22:10.07930:01.1096
18Lucky 7 RacingAndrew ThompsonFord Falcon FG2:10.10600:01.1363
19Team HiflexDale WoodFord Falcon FG2:10.18980:01.2201
20Team iSelectScott PyeHolden Commodore VE22:10.31780:01.3481
21Supercheap Auto RacingChristian KlienHolden Commodore VE22:10.35270:01.3830
22Jim Beam RacingAllan SimonsenFord Falcon FG2:10.52020:01.5505
23Jack Daniel’s RacingDavid RussellHolden Commodore VE22:10.52130:01.5516
24Tekno AutosportsJonny ReidHolden Commodore VE22:11.19990:02.2302
25Jack Daniel’s RacingTim BlanchardHolden Commodore VE22:11.48210:02.5124
26Pepsi Max CrewOwen KellyHolden Commodore VE22:11.61940:02.6497
27VIP PetfoodsPaul MorrisFord Falcon FG2:12.15750:03.1878
28Shannons DixonHolden Commodore VE22:12.19540:03.2257
29Wilson Security RacingChris PitherHolden Commodore VE22:12.42320:03.4535


See below for’s Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Race Guide.

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 -