Luff the quickest co-driver in Practice 2 at Bathurst

  • Thursday 4th October, 2012 1:47pm
  • Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©
The #888 TeamVodafone Holden

The #888 TeamVodafone Holden

Warren Luff has backed up his recent Sandown 500 victory alongside Craig Lowndes by emerging fastest from the co-driver only Practice 2 at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Luff recorded his best lap of 2:09.18s as the chequered flag fell on the session, eclipsing an equally late effort from Andrew Jones by 0.23s.

Steven Richards and Paul Dumbrell ended the running third and fourth respectively, having both spent time at the top of the sheets.

Jack Perkins, Cameron McConville, Matthew Halliday, David Russell, Luke Youlden and Scott McLaughlin rounded out the top 10.

Chris Pither was an early casualty, running the #21 Wilson Security Holden into the tyre wall at Griffins Bend. The incident brought a red flag period that lasted 13 minutes.

CLICK HERE for more on Chris Pither’s accident

Dumbrell quickly moved to the top of the order on the restart, holding his position as the only man in the 2:09s until the final 10 minutes.

At the other end of the order, Shannons Supercar Showdown competition winner Jesse Dixon steadily improved throughout his 17 laps to end up 28th on 2:14.22s.

Reigning champion Nick Percat was just 22nd fastest in the #2 Holden Racing Team Holden, a full 1.3s adrift of team-mate James Courtney. The factory Holden team is one of several to have complained of tyre issues during the day so far as each squad tests the set-up limits of the rubber.

The third and final practice session of the day for the V8 Supercars will get underway at 1505 local time.

See below for the full Practice 2 result

1TeamVodafoneWarren LuffHolden Commodore VE22:09.1794
2Team BOCAndrew JonesHolden Commodore VE22:09.41380:00.2344
3Orrcon Steel FPR FordSteven RichardsFord Falcon FG2:09.57870:00.3993
4TeamVodafonePaul DumbrellHolden Commodore VE22:09.71990:00.5405
5Fujitsu Racing GRMJack PerkinsHolden Commodore VE22:09.81960:00.6402
6Holden Racing TeamCameron McConvilleHolden Commodore VE22:09.88210:00.7027
7Jim Beam RacingMatthew HallidayFord Falcon FG2:10.04510:00.8657
8Jack Daniel’s RacingDavid RussellHolden Commodore VE22:10.11020:00.9308
9SP Tools RacingLuke YouldenFord Falcon FG2:10.21210:01.0327
10Tekno AutosportsScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VE22:10.31560:01.1362
11Fujitsu Racing GRMGreg RitterHolden Commodore VE22:10.32190:01.1425
12Trading Post FPR FordJohn McIntyreFord Falcon FG2:10.46340:01.2840
13Team HiflexDale WoodFord Falcon FG2:10.47030:01.2909
14Supercheap Auto RacingChristian KlienHolden Commodore VE22:10.53470:01.3553
15Irwin RacingCraig BairdFord Falcon FG2:10.59300:01.4136
16Lockwood RacingDavid BesnardHolden Commodore VE22:10.73770:01.5583
17Pepsi Max CrewOwen KellyHolden Commodore VE22:10.75910:01.5797
18The Bottle-O Racing TeamDean CantoFord Falcon FG2:10.85170:01.6723
19Lucky 7 RacingAndrew ThompsonFord Falcon FG2:10.90470:01.7253
20Team iSelectScott PyeHolden Commodore VE22:10.92220:01.7428
21Jim Beam RacingAllan SimonsenFord Falcon FG2:11.07490:01.8955
22Holden Racing TeamNick PercatHolden Commodore VE22:11.22100:02.0416
23Fair Dinkum Sheds RacingDaniel GauntHolden Commodore VE22:11.26100:02.0816
24VIP PetfoodsPaul MorrisFord Falcon FG2:11.69870:02.5193
25Tekno AutosportsJonny ReidHolden Commodore VE22:11.72740:02.5480
26Jack Daniel’s RacingTim BlanchardHolden Commodore VE22:11.79680:02.6174
27Team Norton DJRAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG2:11.98910:02.8097
28Shannons DixonHolden Commodore VE22:14.22100:05.0416
29Wilson Security RacingChris PitherHolden Commodore VE22:16.07110:06.8917

See below for’s Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Race Guide

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 -