Jesse Dixon wins Bathurst 1000 drive in Shannons entry

  • Sunday 30th September, 2012 9:45pm
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©
Jesse Dixon

Jesse Dixon

Jesse Dixon has been confirmed as the winner of the Shannons Supercar Showdown television show, scoring the final seat in next weekend’s Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Dixon will partner up with Cameron Waters in the #23 Shannons/ entry. The ex-Walkinshaw Racing-built Commodore VE will be prepared by Minda Motorsport, with assistance from Kelly Racing.

Last week, the car’s original driver Grant Denyer was ruled out due to a shoulder injury, replaced by Waters. CLICK HERE for’s previous story.

Dixon defeated Glen Wood and New Zealander Andre Heimgartner for the prized ride.

The pair will be the youngest-ever combination to tackle ‘The Great Race.’ Dixon, 20, and Waters, 18, undercut the previous record of Jack Perkins and Shane Price set in 2006.

Dixon has previously competed in karting, international open wheel racing, plus Australian Formula Ford and the V8 Ute Series.

Dixon has conducted a number of test days, including the driving elements within the Shannons Supercar Showdown. He will get his next drive of a V8 Supercar in the opening practice session at Mount Panorama this Friday.

See below for the complete 2012 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 field

#Sponsor NamePrimary DriverCo-DriverModel
1TeamVodafoneJamie WhincupPaul DumbrellVE II
2Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderNick PercatVE II
3Team HiflexTony D’AlbertoDale WoodFG
4Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthCraig BairdFG
5Orrcon Steel FPR FordMark WinterbottomSteven RichardsFG
6Tradingpost FPR FordWill DavisonJohn McIntyreFG
7Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyTim BlanchardVE II
8Team BOCJason BrightAndrew JonesVE II
9SP Tools RacingShane van GisbergenLuke YouldenFG
11Fair Dinkum Sheds RacingKarl ReindlerDaniel GauntVE II
12Jim Beam RacingDean FioreMatthew HallidayFG
14Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardDavid BesnardVE II
15Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyDavid RussellVE II
17Jim Beam RacingSteven JohnsonAllan SimonsenFG
18Team Norton DJRJames MoffatAlex DavisonFG
19Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbScott McLaughlinVE II
21Wilson Security RacingDavid WallChris PitherVE II
22Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyCameron McConvilleVE II
23Shannons RacingCameron WatersJesse DixonVE II
30Team iSelectTaz DouglasScott PyeVE II
33Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematJack PerkinsVE II
34Fujitsu Racing GRMMichael CarusoGreg RitterVE II
47Lucky 7 RacingTim SladeAndrew ThompsonFG
49V.I.P. PetfoodsSteve OwenPaul MorrisFG
51Pepsi Max CrewGreg MurphyOwen KellyVE II
55The Bottle-O FPR FordDavid ReynoldsDean CantoFG
66Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallChristian KlienVE II
91Tekno AutosportsMichael PatriziJonny ReidVE II
888TeamVodafoneCraig LowndesWarren LuffVE II

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 -