Lewis Hamilton takes dominant Italian GP victory

  • Sunday 9th September, 2012 11:28pm
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©
Lewis Hamilton secured his first Italian Grand Prix victory in dominant fashion

Lewis Hamilton secured his first Italian Grand Prix victory in dominant fashion

Lewis Hamilton has completed a dominant weekend at Monza by taking his third victory of the season in the Italian Grand Prix.

The pole-sitter held off a fast-starting Felipe Massa at the first corner and was only briefly headed during the pitstop cycle thereafter.

A fuel pressure problem for Jenson Button soured McLaren’s day however, with the 2009 World Champion forced to pull off the circuit while running second 20 laps from home.

Hamilton eventually took the chequered flag 4.4s ahead of a charging Sergio Perez. Having started from 12th on the grid, the Mexican completed a long first stint on the hard compound tyres before charging home on the softs.

Fernando Alonso and Massa secured third and fourth respectively for Ferrari after both being passed by Perez within the final 10 laps.

The results see Alonso, who started 10th after suffering a mechanical issue in qualifying, extend his championship lead to 37 points over the now second-placed Hamilton.

It was a disastrous afternoon for Constructors’ Championship leaders Red Bull as the team failed to score a single point for the first time in 34 races.

Sebastian Vettel ran sixth with just a handful of laps remaining – despite having served a drive-through for forcing Alonso off the road at Curva Grande following the pitstops – but was forced out with an engine problem.

Mark Webber meanwhile looked set to score seventh before a spin exiting Ascari in the waning laps saw the Australian tour into the garage with heavily flat-spotted tyres. Webber had spent most of the afternoon recovering from a poor start that saw him lose three spots from an already lowly 11th place starting position.

Kimi Raikkonen meanwhile mirrored the one-stop strategies of the top four to finish fifth, moving himself to third in the World Championship standings in the process.

Completing the race’s top eight were the two-stopping Mercedes entries of Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg, both of which progressed up the order in the closing stages while on newer rubber than their rivals.

Kamui Kobayashi and Bruno Senna rounded out the points scorers, with the latter joining 11th place finisher Pastor Maldonoado in taking a limping Daniel Ricciardo on the final lap. The West Australian held ninth exiting the final corner only to find a sudden loss of fuel pressure.

Ricciardo’s team-mate Jean-Eric Vergne had an early shower after enduring a wild failure-induced spin at Turn 1 on just the ninth lap. The Frenchman reported experiencing a sore back after the incident which saw the Toro Rosso momentarily take flight as it spun across the chicane’s kerbing.

Nico Hulkenberg’s race also ended in disappointment as a mechanical problem forced the German into the garage with just three laps remaining.

The 2012 Formula 1 World Championship continues in two weeks time with the Singapore Grand Prix.

See below for the full race result







1Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes53Winner1
2Sergio PerezSauber-Ferrari53+4.3 secs12
3Fernando AlonsoFerrari53+20.5 secs10
4Felipe MassaFerrari53+29.6 secs3
5Kimi RäikkönenLotus-Renault53+30.8 secs7
6Michael SchumacherMercedes53+31.2 secs4
7Nico RosbergMercedes53+33.5 secs6
8Paul di RestaForce India-Mercedes53+41.0 secs9
9Kamui KobayashiSauber-Ferrari53+43.8 secs8
10Bruno SennaWilliams-Renault53+48.1 secs13
11Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Renault53+48.6 secs22
12Daniel RicciardoSTR-Ferrari53+50.3 secs14
13Jerome D’AmbrosioLotus-Renault53+75.8 secs15
14Heikki KovalainenCaterham-Renault52+1 Lap17
15Vitaly PetrovCaterham-Renault52+1 Lap18
16Charles PicMarussia-Cosworth52+1 Lap20
17Timo GlockMarussia-Cosworth52+1 Lap19
18Pedro de la RosaHRT-Cosworth52+1 Lap23
19Narain KarthikeyanHRT-Cosworth52+1 Lap21
20Mark WebberRed Bull Racing-Renault51+2 Laps11
21Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes50+3 Laps24
22Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault47+6 Laps5
RetJenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes32+21 Laps2
RetJean-Eric VergneSTR-Ferrari8+45 Laps16

See below for the updated points standings




1Fernando Alonso179
2Lewis Hamilton142
3Kimi Räikkönen141
4Sebastian Vettel140
5Mark Webber132
6Jenson Button101
7Nico Rosberg83
8Romain Grosjean76
9Sergio Perez65
10Felipe Massa47
11Michael Schumacher43
12Kamui Kobayashi35
13Paul di Resta32
14Nico Hulkenberg31
15Pastor Maldonado29
16Bruno Senna25
17Jean-Eric Vergne8
18Daniel Ricciardo4
19Heikki Kovalainen0
20Vitaly Petrov0
21Timo Glock0
22Charles Pic0
23Narain Karthikeyan0
24Pedro de la Rosa0

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Speedcafe.com Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 - Speedcafe.com