GRM confirms its Sandown and Bathurst pairings

Saturday 4th August, 2012


Author: SpeedCafe ©

The #33 and #34 Fujitsu Racing Commodores

The #33 and #34 Fujitsu Racing Commodores

Garry Rogers Motorsport has officially locked in its driver pairings for the Dick Smith Sandown 500 and the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

After announcing earlier this year that Greg Ritter and Jack Perkins would drive for the Victorian-based Holden squad, team owner Garry Rogers has confirmed that Ritter will team up with Michael Caruso and Perkins will drive with rookie Frenchman Alexandre Permat.

The Fujitsu-backed team’s decision on its pairings seals the full field for Sandown and Bathurst, save for the #777 Shannons Supercar Showdown entry. That entry’s co-driver for Grant Denyer will be announced the week leading into the Bathurst 1000.

Rogers, who traditionally has left his co-driver pairings fluid until eve of the endurance season, says that the team is pleased with the pairings after conducting most of its co-driver practice with Perkins in #33 and Ritter in #34.

“We would have no reason, other than an interruption to our program, than to run Jack with Alex and Greg with Michael,” Rogers confirmed to

“That’s what we have set out to do, and that’s how we have conducted all of our testing thus far.

“Based on the information we’ve gathered so far, we’ll have no reason to change our plans.”

While Perkins’ extensive experience in both the V8 Supercars Championship and Development Series sees the team well placed to offer Premat maximum seat time in the lead-up to the Sandown and Bathurst races, Rogers argues that the Frenchman should have no problems adapting to the famous mountain circuit.

“The only thing that Bathurst has got is the atmosphere it creates – that’s the difference,” Rogers said.

“At the end of the day, Bathurst is just another race track. If he can’t drive there, maybe I need to give him a whipping! He can drive, so he’ll be just fine.”

See below for Sandown and Bathurst’s endurance driver list

#Sponsor NameDriver NameCo-DriverModel
1TeamVodafoneJamie WhincupPaul DumbrellVE II
2Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderNick PercatVE II
3Team HiflexTony D’AlbertoDale WoodFG
4Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthCraig BairdFG
5Orrcon Steel FPR FordMark WinterbottomSteven RichardsFG
6Tradingpost FPR FordWill DavisonJohn McIntyreFG
7Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyTim BlanchardVE II
8Team BOCJason BrightAndrew JonesVE II
9SP Tools RacingShane van GisbergenLuke YouldenFG
11Fair Dinkum Sheds RacingKarl ReindlerDaniel GauntVE II
12Jim Beam RacingDean FioreMatthew HallidayFG
14Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardDavid BesnardVE II
15Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyDavid RussellVE II
17Jim Beam RacingSteven JohnsonAllan SimonsenFG
18Team Norton DJRJames MoffatAlex DavisonFG
19Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbScott McLaughlinVE II
21Wilson Security RacingDavid WallChris PitherVE II
22Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyCameron McConvilleVE II
30Team iSelectTaz DouglasScott PyeVE II
33Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematJack PerkinsVE II
34Fujitsu Racing GRMMichael CarusoGreg RitterVE II
47Lucky 7 RacingTim SladeAndrew ThompsonFG
49V.I.P. PetfoodsSteve OwenPaul MorrisFG
51Pepsi Max CrewGreg MurphyOwen KellyVE II
55The Bottle-O FPR FordDavid ReynoldsDean CantoFG
66Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallChristian KlienVE II
91Tekno AutosportsMichael PatriziJonny ReidVE II
777Shannons RacingGrant DenyerTBAVE II
888TeamVodafoneCraig LowndesWarren LuffVE II

See below for’s Coates Hire 300 Race Guide

Comments are closed.