Fields set for Shannons Nationals opener

  • Thursday 8th March, 2012 5:00pm
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©
The 2011 Kumho Series field at Eastern Creek

The 2011 Kumho Series field at Eastern Creek

The fields have been set for the five-category Shannons Nationals opener to be held at Eastern Creek Raceway this weekend.

A 19-car Kumho V8 Touring Car Series line-up headlines the meeting, with 2011 series front-runners Chris Smerdon, Scott Loadsman and Justin Garioch among those eyeing the title in the absence of reigning winner Terry Wyhoon.

As previously reported, Wyhoon’s Falcon will be driven by Bobby Jane, the youngest son of four-time Australian Touring Car Champion Bob Jane.

Josh Hunter, the grandson of sprintcar legend Garry Rush, is also set to make his touring car debut this weekend, driving a Falcon for Fernandez Motorsport.

Elsewhere in the field, former Fernandez Racing driver Nathan Garioch has switched to the Sydney Star Holden team, while ex-Swift Racing Series competitor Morgan Haber will steer a Ford prepared by Development Series team MW Motorsport.

A 20-car field will take to the Sydney venue for the opening Australian Manufacturers Championship round of the season, where Stuart Kostera’s TMR Mitsubishi Lancer is again expected to be dominant.

Other notable entrants include Des Wall, father of V8 Supercars driver David Wall, in the Easts Holiday Parks Mitsubishi, and the appearance of two-time Australian GT Championship Mark Eddy alongside Francois Jouy in the Network Clothing Honda Integra.

Last year’s Commodore Cup title combatants Adam Beechey and Matt Hayes will have to contend with the return of former winner Brett Holdsworth as part of a 15 strong field of Holdens, while the Radical Australia Cup and Swift Racing Series have attracted 24 and nine entrants respectively.

Practice for the meeting kicks off tomorrow, while Sunday’s action will be streamed over the internet via the official Shannons Nationals website.

See below for the individual category entry lists

Kumho V8 Touring Car Series

3Jose FernandezJosh HunterFord Falcon BA
5Forpark AustraliaMatthew HansenHolden Commodore VZ
6Valley Longwall InternationalNathan GariochHolden Commodore VZ
7McDonalds/Martini RacingJim PollicinaHolden Commodore VZ
10Finance EziMaurice PickeringFord Falcon BA
13Vendetta TyresBobby JaneFord Falcon BA
15Bowden HomesShawn JamiesonHolden Commodore VZ
17Kustom WorkzShane HuntFord Falcon AU
22SA Tractors/Retro BlastDean KovacevichHolden Commodore VZ
23Valley Longwall InternationalJustin GariochFord Falcon BA
25Carrington Equipment GroupMichael HectorFord Falcon BA
28MW MotorsportMorgan HaberFord Falcon BA
39Vectra Corp/LubrimaxxChris SmerdonFord Falcon BA
46Premium Showers and RobesPaul PennisiHolden Commodore VY
50CEG RentalMark ShepherdFord Falcon BA
51IR Yeing TransportIan YeingHolden Commodore VZ
62Beautiful TilesScott LoadsmanHolden Commodore VZ
81Cavalier Homes AustraliaMichael BartschFord Falcon BA
98MacArthur TruckserveAaron TebbHolden Commodore VZ

 Australian Manufacturers Championship

1ATMR PerformanceStuart KosteraMitsubishi Lancer Evo X
7APoll Performance/McDonaldsJim PollicinaMitsubishi Lancer Evo X
8BBriffa Smash RepairSteve BriffaHSV GTS
13COsborne MotorsportColin OsborneMazda 3 MPS
19BSherrin RentalsGrant SherrinBMW 135i
21DDisc Brakes AustraliaSteven WilliamsHonda Integra S
23IBruce Lynton BMWBeric LyntonMini Cooper S JCW
25AGo Karting Gold CoastCam WilsonSubaru WRX STi
28BGWS PersonnelPeter O’DonnellBMW 335i
31COsborne MotorsportAdam DoddMazda 3 MPS
36CGrand Prix MazdaJake CamilleriMazda 3 MPS
38AEasts Holiday ParksDes WallMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX
50DTrevor KeeneTrevor KeeneMini Cooper S
51DNetwork Clothing/DentbusterMark Eddy/Francois JouyHonda Integra
68ACXC GlobalDylan ThomasMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX
72ISherrin RentalsMichael SherrinMini Cooper S
75DWeldmaster/Crown & MarksMatthew McGill/Geoff BrunsdonToyota Celica
77EPedders/Valvoline RacingGrant PhillipsProton Satria GTi
97DSafe T StopRichard GartnerRenault Clio RandsHonda Integra Type R

 Radical Australia Cup

1MPA ProjectsEdward SingletonRadical
3Wilson ManagementLeigh Wilson/Stacey AnastasiouRadical
5Haggarty Racing TeamSimon HaggartyRadical
6Haggarty Racing TeamTony HaggartyRadical
8NEVCO EngineeringGeorge PethardRadical
9Radical AustraliaChris MedlandRadical
10Radical AustraliaGeoff Brunsdon/Matthew McGillRadical
14Deputy Radical Works TeamNathan Brumby/Daniel ReinhardtRadical
16WT PartnershipPhil Anseline/Oliver SmithRadical
17PJS AirPeter JohnstonRadical
21Radical AustraliaBrett SuttonRadical
27First Neon GroupPeter WhiteRadical
29Tachac Pty LtdAndy PlummerRadical
32Hughes MotorsportSue HughesRadical
41Excalibur RacingNeale MustonRadical
44Interior DevelopmentsGlyn EdisRadical
51IMAK-KWIKMITAndrew MacphersonRadical
55AdLuxNic StavropoulosRadical
57Octane EventsRichard BloomfieldRadical
58Radical AustraliaRichard KimberRadical
70Radical EventsTony PalmerRadical
71Engineering PartnersGeorge Davis/Anthony DavisRadical
78Radical AustraliaGreg SmithRadical
99IndustrieNick KellyRadical

 Commodore Cup National Series

1Donut KingAdam BeecheyCommodore VS
6San Marco Italian RestrauntMatthew HayesCommodore VS
20Touchstone Building NSWDanny RussoCommodore VS
21Aquacity Pool & Spa CentreGraeme MeerCommodore VS
25Worksense WorkwearAllan HillCommodore VS
27TTM Traffic & ParkingBrett HoldsworthCommodore VS
33Denis PanaDenis PanaCommodore VS
40Top Shelf FruitsMichael TancrediCommodore VS
41Top Shelf FruitsAnthony TancrediCommodore VS
58Beeps Auto Parts BendigoJordan SymesCommodore VS
66Western General BodyworksDanny BuzadzicCommodore VS
77Adams Auto ElectricsAdam LloydCommodore VS
88Aerial Motors/AutomobilityChris StevensonCommodore VS
96Automobility/Aerial Motors RacingJeff WattersCommodore VS
99Southern Star WindowsRoss McGregorCommodore VS

Hi-Tec Oils Swift Racing Series

1Achilles RadialAllan JarvisSwift Sport
3Hi-Tec OilsFernando WiehrlSwift Sport
5BVC RacingAdam BrandSwift Sport
11Hi-Tec OilsRobbie BulgerSwift Sport
17BVC RacingRob JarvisSwift Sport
24Trans TasmanJustin JohnsSwift Sport
62MGM GlassReece MurphySwift Sport
69Hi-Tec OilsColin BradleySwift Sport
83Hi-Tec OilsKen DaltonSwift Sport


Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 -