Jamie Whincup takes pole as carnage continues

  • Sunday 4th March, 2012 11:01am
  • Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©
Jamie Whincup will start Race 2 from pole

Jamie Whincup will start Race 2 from pole

Jamie Whincup will start today’s second race of the 2012 V8 Supercars Championship in Adelaide from pole position.

Whincup knocked Garth Tander from the top spot with just seconds of the session remaining, with the TeamVodafone driver’s 1:20.54s effort the fastest lap of the weekend so far.

Mark Winterbottom ended the 20 minutes in third place, ahead of Craig Lowndes, Rick Kelly, Will Davison, Lee Holdsworth, Tim Slade, Shane van Gisbergen and Michael Caruso.

The red flags were required twice during the session, with James Courtney’s repaired Holden Racing Team Commodore stopping due to a broken driveshaft just five minutes in.

Greg Murphy then made heavy nose-to-tail contact with the Tekno Autosports Commodore of Jonathon Webb after the session recommenced.

Webb had been almost stationary heading into the final corner while trying to create a gap for a hot lap when Murphy rounded Turn 14 at full speed.

While both drivers emerged unscathed from the impact, their entries have been withdrawn.

CLICK HERE for more on the #51 Commodore

CLICK HERE for Greg Murphy’s reaction

CLICK HERE for more on the #19 Commodore

See below for the full qualifying result

1TeamVodafoneJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VE21:20.5353
2Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VE21:20.63950:00.1042
3Orrcon Steel FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG1:20.64360:00.1083
4TeamVodafoneCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VE21:20.80340:00.2681
5Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyHolden Commodore VE21:20.81600:00.2807
6Trading Post FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG1:20.91120:00.3759
7Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthFord Falcon FG1:20.91150:00.3762
8Lucky 7 RacingTim SladeFord Falcon FG1:20.91720:00.3819
9SP Tools RacingShane Van GisbergenFord Falcon FG1:20.98160:00.4463
10Fujitsu Racing GRMMichael CarusoHolden Commodore VE21:21.04600:00.5107
11The Bottle-O Racing TeamDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG1:21.19620:00.6609
12Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyHolden Commodore VE21:21.33000:00.7947
13Tony D’Alberto RacingTony D’AlbertoFord Falcon FG1:21.33290:00.7976
14Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VE21:21.33360:00.7983
15Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VE21:21.40950:00.8742
16Jim Beam RacingSteven JohnsonFord Falcon FG1:21.44080:00.9055
17Tekno AutosportsMichael PatriziHolden Commodore VE21:21.52780:00.9925
18V.I.P. PetfoodsSteve OwenFord Falcon FG1:21.54290:01.0076
19Jim Beam RacingDean FioreFord Falcon FG1:21.63510:01.0998
20Team Norton DJRJames MoffatFord Falcon FG1:21.67410:01.1388
21Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VE21:21.71150:01.1762
22Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematHolden Commodore VE21:21.81560:01.2803
23Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VE21:22.06380:01.5285
24Team iSelectTaz DouglasHolden Commodore VE21:22.09280:01.5575
25Fair Dinkum Sheds RacingKarl ReindlerHolden Commodore VE21:22.31200:01.7767
26Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VE21:22.41500:01.8797
27Pepsi Max CrewGreg MurphyHolden Commodore VE26:38.18265:17.6473
28Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VE2

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Clipsal 500 Adelaide Race Guide

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Speedcafe.com Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 - Speedcafe.com