Craig Lowndes takes first pole position of 2012

Friday 2nd March, 2012


Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©

Craig Lowndes celebrates his pole position

Craig Lowndes celebrates his pole position

Craig Lowndes has taken the first Armor All Pole Award of the 2012 V8 Supercars Championship season at the Clipsal 500 in Adelaide

Lowndes was the ninth driver on the circuit in the top 10 shootout, and moved to the top of the order by completing a 1:21.27s lap that proved 0.29s quicker than previous fast man Garth Tander.

Tander will start second, with Will Davison and Jonathon Webb sharing the second row.

Webb was arguably the star of the session after narrowly squeaking into the top 10 at the end of qualifying. The Tekno Autosports Commodore set an early benchmark that could not be matched by the following entries of David Reynolds, Fabian Coulthard and Tim Slade.

Jamie Whincup was just fifth fastest after an uncharacteristically off-the-pace effort, while Slade, Mark Winterbottom, David Reynolds, Fabian Coulthard and Shane van Gisbergen rounded out the top 10.

Winterbottom had been the last car on the circuit after topping qualifying, but never threatened to take pole – the Orrcon Ford losing 0.3s to Lowndes’ benchmark in the first sector alone.

The V8 Supercars will return to the Adelaide Parklands Street Circuit for a morning warm-up at 905 tomorrow.

See below for the full Race 1 starting order

1TeamVodafoneCraig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE21:21.2738
2Holden Racing TeamGarth Tander Holden Commodore VE21:21.29080:00.0170
3Trading Post FPR FordWill Davison Ford Falcon FG1:21.41940:00.1456
4Tekno AutosportsJonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE21:21.51640:00.2426
5TeamVodafoneJamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE21:21.54680:00.2730
6Lucky 7 RacingTim Slade Ford Falcon FG1:21.62880:00.3550
7Orrcon Steel FPR FordMark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG1:21.70930:00.4355
8The Bottle-O Racing TeamDavid Reynolds Ford Falcon FG1:21.80780:00.5340
9Lockwood RacingFabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE21:22.02890:00.7551
10SP Tools RacingShane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG1:22.31050:01.0367
10Tekno AutosportsJonathon Webb Holden Commodore VE21:21.23680:00.4209
11Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd Kelly Holden Commodore VE21:21.23860:00.4227
12Tony D’Alberto RacingTony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG1:21.37460:00.5587
13Holden Racing TeamJames Courtney Holden Commodore VE21:21.40350:00.5876
14Jack Daniel’s RacingRick Kelly Holden Commodore VE21:21.41480:00.5989
15Irwin RacingLee Holdsworth Ford Falcon FG1:21.48800:00.6721
16Fujitsu Racing GRMMichael Caruso Holden Commodore VE21:21.49660:00.6807
17V.I.P. PetfoodsSteve Owen Ford Falcon FG1:21.54310:00.7272
18Jim Beam RacingSteven Johnson Ford Falcon FG1:21.59150:00.7756
19Team Norton DJRJames Moffat Ford Falcon FG1:21.59280:00.7769
20Tekno AutosportsMichael Patrizi Holden Commodore VE21:21.68020:00.8643
21Supercheap Auto RacingRussell Ingall Holden Commodore VE21:21.75320:00.9373
22Pepsi Max CrewGreg Murphy Holden Commodore VE21:21.79640:00.9805
23Jim Beam RacingDean Fiore Ford Falcon FG1:21.94260:01.1267
24Team iSelectTaz Douglas Holden Commodore VE21:22.19070:01.3748
25Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre Premat Holden Commodore VE21:22.19910:01.3832
26Wilson Security RacingDavid Wall Holden Commodore VE21:22.43580:01.6199
27Team BOCJason Bright Holden Commodore VE21:29.33260:08.5167


See below for’s Clipsal 500 Adelaide Race Guide

Comments are closed.