Van Giz fastest as Whincup crashes in practice

Friday 7th October, 2011


Author: SpeedCafe ©

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen

TeamVodafone will have less than three hours in which to repair Jamie Whincup’s TeamVodafone Commodore if it is to compete in qualifying for the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 after the three-time race winner crashed in Practice 5.

Whincup ran wide at the entry to The Cutting on his final lap of the 50 minute session before sliding into the outside wall.

The championship leader, who also crashed in Practice 5 last year, had been knocked off the top of the time sheets by SP Tools Ford driver Shane van Gisbergen moments prior to the incident.

Whincup’s best effort of the session remained enough for second fastest, while Mark Winterbottom, Garth Tander and Lee Holdsworth rounded out the top five.

Having set an early 2:08.97s benchmark, Whincup had spent the entire first half of the session as the fastest man.

Garth Tander went marginally quicker with 2:08.95s at the 20 minute mark, which drew an immediate 2:08.70s response from the Triple Eight Commodore, before another lap saw Whincup lower the time further to 2:08.37s.

With qualifying simulations in full swing, Lee Holdsworth showed his hand (2:08.02s) with 10 minutes remaining, which lasted until Tander popped back into the reckoning by setting a 2:07.78s with less than two minutes left.

Again, Whincup’s response – a 2:07.70s – was immediate, before van Gisbergen’s final lap trumped all previous efforts, while Winterbottom’s 2:07.77s also came in the final seconds.

Fabian Coulthard’s Bundaberg Commodore emerged largely unscathed from a major spin at the top of the Mountain.

The Walkinshaw Racing entry rotated through 360 degrees after the Kiwi lost control over the back of the McPhillamy Park exit kerb, in an incident that involved relatively minor rear-on contact with the inside wall.

Greg Murphy had managed to catch a similarly wild slide earlier in the session, while James Moffat also tested the limits – spinning his Jim Beam entry at Griffins Bend.

The Jason Bargwanna/Shane Price Commodore did not venture onto the circuit during the 50 minutes as the Jana Living Racing crew completed an engine change.

The Stratco Racing crew also had a difficult session, with lead driver David Reynolds completing just six laps as the team continued to sort the engine problems that stopped the car in Practice 4.

Qualifying for the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 will take place at 14:45 local time.

See below for the full session result

1SP Tools RacingShane Van GisbergenFord Falcon FG2:07.6035
2TeamVodafoneJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VE22:07.70080:00.0973
3Orrcon Steel FPR FalconMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG2:07.76790:00.1644
4Toll Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VE22:07.80330:00.1998
5Fujitsu Racing GRMLee HoldsworthHolden Commodore VE22:07.98050:00.3770
6Irwin RacingAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG2:08.14000:00.5365
7Toll Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VE22:08.16190:00.5584
8Trading Post FPR FalconWill DavisonFord Falcon FG2:08.21080:00.6073
9Fujitsu Racing GRMMichael CarusoHolden Commodore VE22:08.24770:00.6442
10VIP PetfoodsSteve OwenHolden Commodore VE22:08.47940:00.8759
11Lucky 7 RacingTim SladeFord Falcon FG2:08.52080:00.9173
12Team BocJason BrightHolden Commodore VE22:08.63500:01.0315
13Jack Daniel’s RacingR.Kelly/O.KellyHolden Commodore VE22:08.69650:01.0930
14Pepsi Max CrewG.Murphy/A.SimonsenHolden Commodore VE22:08.71850:01.1150
15TeamVodafoneCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VE22:08.72860:01.1251
16Wilson Security Team McGrathTony D’AlbertoFord Falcon FG2:08.81350:01.2100
17The Bottle-O Racing TeamPaul DumbrellFord Falcon FG2:08.95800:01.3545
18Gulf Western Oil RacingWarren LuffHolden Commodore VE22:09.09980:01.4963
19Mother Energy Racing TeamJonathon WebbFord Falcon FG2:09.23190:01.6284
20Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyHolden Commodore VE22:09.32380:01.7203
21Fair Dinkum Sheds RacingKarl ReindlerHolden Commodore VE22:09.36980:01.7663
22Bundaberg RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VE22:09.40040:01.7969
23Jim Beam RacingSteven JohnsonFord Falcon FG2:09.49490:01.8914
24Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VE22:09.55710:01.9536
25Triple F RacingD.Fiore/M.PatriziFord Falcon FG2:09.78530:02.1818
26Jim Beam RacingJames MoffatFord Falcon FG2:10.07510:02.4716
27Stratco RacingDavid ReynoldsHolden Commodore VE22:12.10170:04.4982
28Shannons Mars RacingGrant DenyerHolden Commodore VE22:13.69890:06.095

See below for’s Bathurst Race Guide

Comments are closed.