Big production car field set for ‘Sandown 500’

  • Thursday 1st September, 2011 11:56am
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©
Kostera and Tulloch cleaned up earlier this year at Phillip Island

Kostera and Tulloch cleaned up earlier this year at Phillip Island

A 28-car field is set to take to Sandown Raceway for the inaugural Dial Before You Dig Australian Manufacturers’ Championship 500.

The event, run with the September 10-11 Shannons Nationals presented by Hi-Tec Oils meeting at the Melbourne venue, will see the production cars tackle a 250km race on both Saturday and Sunday.

While co-drivers are not mandatory, the majority of the field have nominated a second driver.

Stuart Kostera and Inky Tulloch will start as the red hot favourites sharing the #1 Team Mitsubishi Ralliart Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X – one of seven Class A entries.

Petfoods magnate Tony Quinn will team up with son Klark Quinn in the VIP team’s Evo IX, while a second TMR Lancer, owned by Glyn Crimp, is also a strong podium chance.

Australian touring car legend John Bowe will once again drive a BMW 335i alongside car owner Peter O’Donnell in Class B, while the Mazda 3 MPS of Jake Camilleri and Scott Nicholas is likely to lead the way in Class C.

Toyota, Ford, Mini and Honda will all be represented in Class D, which will battle to stay ahead of the Class E entries which will not be required to make a compulsory pit stop in the races. The ‘baby class’ includes two entries from the Suzuki Swift one-make series.

Three former Mini Challenge vehicles will fight for their own ‘Mini Cup’ as part of the invitational Class I, which are expected to fight with the Class C entries on speed.

The Sandown event is the fourth and penultimate round of the 2011 Australian Manufacturers Championship.

Mitsubishi currently leads with 630 points from Mazda (555) and Toyota (525), while Kostera (366) heads the Drivers’ points ahead of Tulloch (240) and Camilleri (231).

See below for the full Sandown entry list

1ATMR PerformanceStuart Kostera/Ian TullochMitsubishi Lancer Evo X
7APoll PerformanceJim Pollicina/Dean KellandMitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 RS
25AGo Karting Gold CoastCam Wilson/Peter BurnittSubaru Impreza WRX STi
29AVIP PetfoodsTony Quinn/Klark QuinnMitsubishi Lancer Evo 9
55ATBATBAMitsubishi Lancer Evo X
68ACXC GlobalDylan Thomas/David ThiomasMitsubishi Lancer Evo 9
93ASymes CoachesGreg SymesMitsubishi Lancer Evo 9
8BBriffa Smash RepairsSteve BriffaHSV Clubsport R8
10BIntern’l Energy ServicesJeremy Gray/Barton MawerFord FPV F6
19BSherrin RentalsGrant SherrinBMW 135i
28BGWS PersonnelPeter O’Donnell/John BoweBMW 335i
13COsborne MotorsportColin OsborneMazda 3 MPS
20CRacer IndustriesRyan McLeodHolden Astra HSV
26CGWS PersonnelGarth DuffyBMW 130i
31COsborne MotorsportHadrian Morrall/David GiugniMazda 3 MPS
36CGrand Prix MazdaJake Camilleri/Scott NicolasMazda 3 MPS
5DTBALauren GrayToyota Corolla
21DDisc Brakes AustraliaJake WilliamsHonda Integra S
50DMid West Multi MediaTrevor KeeneMini Cooper S
71DInertia ApparelDeclan Kirkham/Phil KirkhamFord Fiesta
75DWeldmasterMatthew McGill/Geoff BrunsdonToyota Celica
15ETBAMaddison GrayToyota Echo
27ETrans Tasman M/sportAllan Jarvis/Morgan HaberSuzuki Swift GTi
35ETrans Tasman M/SportMark GibsonSuzuki Swift GTi
77EPedders RacingGrant Phillips/Andrew Turpie/Daryl MartinProton Satria GTi
2IProserv / Abbey CranesBrendan Cook/John ModystachMini Cooper JWC
23IBruce Lynton Mini GarageBeric LyntonMini Cooper JWC
72ISherrin RentalsMichael SherrinMini Cooper JWC

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 -