The V8 Twitter Followers Championship

Speedcafe.com

Saturday 27th March, 2010 - 4:57pm

Share:

Mark Winterbottom, Steven Richards and Jason Bright at the Australian Grand Prix this weekend

Mark Winterbottom, Steven Richards and Jason Bright at the Australian Grand Prix this weekend

The race to greet the chequered flag first in V8 Supercars is intense, but a new off-track battle in V8 Supercars has begun …

Bragging rights for which driver can have the most Twitter followers is on, with almost half the field now posting latest status updates and photos on the popular social networking site.

Trading Post Racing’s Jason Bright currently leads the V8 Twitter Followers Championship, and today, he launched his new website that he hopes will keep him ahead of the rest of the field.

“It’s becoming a bit competitive between the drivers,” said Brighty, referring to the number of ‘followers’ and ‘friends’ different teams have.

“I’m doing pretty well at the moment but I think this website is going to boost that even more!”

Of the V8 Supercar drivers, Bright (@britek) leads the V8 Twitter Followers Championship on 2789, with reigning Champion Jamie Whincup (@jamiewhincup) second on 1894 followers.

Orrcon Steel FPR’s Mark Winterbottom (@mwinterbottom) is third on 1349 from Toll HRT’s Garth Tander (@garthtander) who is in the mix with 855. Tander’s Walkinshaw Racing stablemates are close behind with Fabian Coulthard (@fabiancoulthard) on 783 and Will Davison (@willdavison22) on 724.

Other regular tweet freaks include Craig Lowndes (@craiglowndes888 – 605 followers), James Courtney (@jcourtney18 – 522 followrs), Paul Dumbrell (@pauldumbrell – 485 followers) plus new Twitter account holders Andrew Thompson (@thommo10 – 232 followers), Jason Richards (@jrv8) and Tony D’Alberto (@tonydalberto – 51 followers).

Australian F1 driver Mark Webber (@aussiegrit) has 13,605 followers, while they all pale into insignificance compared to NASCAR driver Juan Pablo Montoya (@jpmontoya), who has 135, 549 followers …

V8 Supercars teams are also heavily involved in the Twitter, with Kelly Racing (@kelly_racing), Toll Holden Racing Team (@holden_racing), Bundaberg Red Racing (@bundyredracing), TeamVodafone (@teamvodafone888), Jim Beam Racing (@jimbeamracing), Wilson Security Racing (@wsracing), Stone Brothers Racing (@stonebrothers), Brad Jones Racing (@tradingpostv8 and @teamboc), Garry Rogers Motorsport (@grmotorsport) and V8 Supercars itself (@v8supercars) all keeping the world up-to-date.

And for the record, @speedcafe is currently holding its own on 623 followers!

Comments are closed.